Community Sports

Bellingham’s Bowlin, Boyce win Legendary Banked Slalom titles

A pair of Bellingham snowboarders won their division titles at the 30th Legendary Banked Slalom held Thursday through Sunday, Feb. 18-21, at the Mt. Baker Ski Area.

Chris Bowlin won the Masters Men division with a time of 2 minutes, 5.96 seconds, while Kevin Boyce won the Super Masters division in 2:42.53.

The fastest time on Sunday was turned in by Mathieu Crepel from Bdart, France, who won the Pro Men Division in 1:42.77, while Maelle Ricker from Squamish, B.C., won the Pro Women division in 1:46.83. It was Ricker’s eighth title in nine years.

Other top finishers from the 2016 event included: Tosh Krauskopf from Smithers, B.C., in the Next Generation Boys; Juliette Pelchat from Whistler, B.C., in the Next Generation Girls; Milo Malkoski from Seattle in the Junior Boys; Kaitlyn Peterson from Smithers in the Junior Girls; Lucas Foster from Telluride, Colo., in the Young Amateurs; Spencer Cordovano from Near Sun Valley, Idaho, in the Older Amateurs; Isabella Gomez from Issaquah in the Women Amateurs; Tanya Simonson from Big Sky, Mont., in the Women Masters; Chris Ankeny from Pemberton, B.C., in the Mid Masters Men; Pete Saari from Port Angeles in the Grand Masters; Rob Kingwill from Jackson, Wyo., in the Pro Masters Men and Marni Yamada from Shoreline in the Pro Masters Women.