Prep Baseball & Softball

Squalicum, Ferndale lead All-NWC baseball selections

Skagit Valley baseball clubs swept the top All-Northwest Conference team honors, but Ferndale and Squalicum showed how they were able to make deep postseason runs with the amount of players who landed on the All-NWC list.

The Storm and Golden Eagles each had four players receive first- or second-team selections, the most of any Whatcom County club. Four players were also chosen from Anacortes.

Burlington-Edison’s Mason Schwetz was selected league MVP, Tigers coach John Thurmond earned Coach of the Year, Anacortes’ Matt Irving was selected first-team pitcher and Burlington-Edison’s Drew Larson was the NWC’s second-team pitcher.

Squalicum standout junior shortstop Ernie Yake was a first-team pick, and teammates Tim Lann, Carter Nickelson and Kyle Little earned second-team nods. The group led Squalicum (21-7) to a third-place state finish, while achieving the program’s first ever state berth and state regional win along the way.

Yake led off for the Storm and played arguably the best defensive shortstop of any player in the league, Little was his middle infield mate at second, hitting No. 3 in Squalicum’s lineup, Lann played third and gave the Storm a steady bat and Nickelson hit No. 2 and used his speed and arm to play a great center field.

Representing Ferndale was senior catcher Brady Shearer, Matt James, Kyler Brudwick and Kyle Sandstrom. They led the Golden Eagles (19-6) to a state berth with an impressive district tournament run.

Shearer put together a great season behind the plate, and hit No. 4 in Ferndale’s lineup, Brudwick was one of the better hitters in the league and played third, James displayed his hitting ability as the team’s DH and Sandstrom was paramount for the Golden Eagles as the team’s leadoff man and center fielder. James and Shearer were both first-team selections.

Lynden’s Jordan Wittenberg, Sehome’s Owen Wright, Bellingham’s Nate Pearsall and Nooksack Valley’s Ryan Gelwicks rounded out all of Whatcom County’s first-team selections.

Second-team picks included Sehome’s Jake Albert, Blaine’s Jonathan Starcer, Bellingham’s Austin Shenton, Lynden’s Dalton Ohligschlager and Meridian’s Derek Campfield.


MVP: Mason Schwetz

Coach of the Year: John Thurmond, Burlington-Edison

First team pitcher: Matt Irving, Anacortes

Second team pitcher: Drew Larson, Burlington-Edison

First team: Jordan Neville, Anacortes; Jordan Wittenberg, Lynden; Brady Shearer, Ferndale; Ty Johnson, Anacortes; Owen Wright, Sehome; Eli Gallo, Anacortes; Ernie Yake, Squalicum; Nate Pearsall, Bellingham; Matt James, Ferndale; Ryan Gelwicks, Nooksack Valley.

Second team: Derek Cherryholmes, Burlington-Edison; Jake Albert, Sehome; Kyler Brudwick, Ferndale; Jonathan Starcer, Blaine; Austin Shenton, Bellingham; Tim Lann, Squalicum; Kyle Sandstrom, Ferndale; Carter Nickelson, Squalicum; Dalton Ohligschlager, Lynden; Kyle Little, Squalicum; Derek Campfield, Meridian.