High School Sports

Storm’s Hegeberg, Mariners’ Hakeman earn All-NWC first-team swim honors

Squalicum’s Jonahthan Hegeberg takes a lead in the breastroke leg of the 200 medley relay during a boys’ swim meet at in January 2016 Arne Hanna Aquatic Center.
Squalicum’s Jonahthan Hegeberg takes a lead in the breastroke leg of the 200 medley relay during a boys’ swim meet at in January 2016 Arne Hanna Aquatic Center. The Bellingham Herald

Squaliucm state champion Jonathan Hegeberg was selected to the first-team All-Northwest Conference Boys’ Swim Team, while Sehome’s Collin Hakeman earned first-team recognition in two events.

Hegeberg, who had a season-best time of 1 minute, 0.39 seconds and won the state title in the 100 breaststroke, capped off his Storm swimming career by earning first-team honors in the event.

Hakeman, also a senior for the Mariners, earned the first-team nod in the 500 freestyle (4:48.88) for the second straight year and in 200 freestyle (1:49.20).

Squalicum’s Wilson Dierdorff, who finished second at state with 348.55 points, earned first-team honors in diving, while Sehome’s Calvin Richan, Joseph Adams, David Leung and Brian Whitney, who combined to finish second at state in the 200 medley relay in 1:43.32, also earned first-team honors.

Rounding out the first team were Anacortes’ Elliot Hofferth (200 individual medley and 100 butterfly), Nathan Mathes (50 freestyle and 100 freestyle) and Sedro-Woolley’s Nick Tugeon-Orbe (100 backstroke). Anacortes also took first-team honors in the 200 and 400 freestyle relays.

Whatcom County swimmers to earn second-team honors were: Squalicum’s 200 medley relay, Sehome’s Payton Johnson (200 freestyle and 500 freestyle), Sehome’s Brian Whitney (50 freestyle), Bellingham’s Brennan Drew (diving), Sehome’s 200 freestyle relay, Sehome’s Joseph Adams (100 breaststroke) and the Sehome 400 freestyle relay.

All-Northwest Conference Boys’ Swim Team

First team

200 medley relay: Sehome (Calvin Richan, Joseph Adams, David Leung, Brian Whitney) 1:43.32

200 freestyle: Colin Hakeman (Sehome) 1:49.20

200 IM: Elliott Hofferth (Anacortes) 1:58.08

50 freestyle: Nathan Mathes (Anacortes) 21.93

Diving: Wilson Dierdorff (Squalicum)

100 butterfly: Elliott Hofferth (Anacortes) :51.96

100 freestyle: Nathan Mathes (Anacortes) :47.95

500 freestyle: Colin Hakeman (Sehome) 4:48.88

200 freestyle relay: Anacortes (Elliott Hofferth, Nathan Mathes, Brett Johnson, Michael Laws) 1:29.59

100 backstroke: Nick Turgeon-Orbe (Sedro Woolley) :57.32

100 breaststroke: Jonathan Hegeberg (Squalicum) 1:00.39

400 freestyle relay: Anacortes (Elliot Hofferth, Michael Laws, Nathan Mathes, Brett Johnson) 3:16.65

Second team

200 medley relay: Squalicum (Franz Allendorfer, Jonathan Hegeberg, Matt Lovell, Winter Gariss) 1:44.07

200 freestyle: Payton Johnson (Sehome) 1:55.63

200 IM: Michael Laws (Anacortes) 1:58.96

50 freestyle: Brian Whitney (Sehome) 22.74

Diving: Brennan Drew (Bellingham)

100 butterfly: Emmett Moore (Anacortes) :53.92

100 freestyle: Michael Laws (Anacortes) :48.63

500 freestyle: Payton Johnson (Sehome) 5:05.36

200 freestyle relay: Sehome (David Leung, Joseph Adams, Brian Whitney, Colin Hakeman) 1:31.31

100 backstroke: Chris Bowlin (Anacortes) :58.19

100 breaststroke: Joseph Adams (Sehome) 1:03.33

400 freestyle relay: Sehome (David Leung, Brian Whitney, Calvin Richan, Colin Hakeman) 3:26.52

Third team

200 medley relay: Anacortes (Chris Bowlin, Kent Mathes, Emmett Moore, Jake LaSalle) 1:46.35

200 freestyle: Bradley Rubio (Bellingham) 1:57.26

200 IM: Jonathan Hegeberg (Squalicum) 2:02.76

50 freestyle: Joseph Adams (Sehome) 22.84

Diving: Koa Hanks (Bellingham)

100 butterfly: David Leung (Sehome) :55.12

100 freestyle: Nick Turgeon-Orbe (Sedro Woolley) :49.51

500 freestyle: Bradley Rubio (Bellingham) 5:08.36

200 freestyle relay: Burlington Edison (Luke Husband, Andrew Hanson, Jun Ochiai, Blair Dykstra) 1:38.23

100 backstroke: Franz Allendorfer (Squalicum) :58.51

100 breaststroke: Brett Johnson (Anacortes) 1:06.99

400 freestyle relay: Squalicum (Matt Lovell, Franz Allendorfer, Jonathan Hegeberg, Aidan Rowland) 3:33.08