High School Sports

Shmotolohka earns second straight All-NWC MVP

Sehome's Max Schmotolokha returns the ball to his opponent on Wednesday, Sept. 23, at Sehome High School in Bellingham.
Sehome's Max Schmotolokha returns the ball to his opponent on Wednesday, Sept. 23, at Sehome High School in Bellingham. The Bellingham Herald

Make it two straight MVPs.

Sehome boys’ tennis player Max Shmotolohka was named once again the best player in the Northwest Conference, earning Most Valuable Player honors on the All-NWC team, which was released Thursday, Oct. 22.

Shmotolohka bettered his second-place district finish of last season with a title this year, topping Shorecrest’s Emahd Kahn 6-1, 6-3 in the singles final and helping the Mariners take the team title and finish the year undefeated in dual meets.

The teammates joining him on the All-NWC team included first-teamers Reece Gilbert, Shane Lynette and William Zhang along with second-teamers Darren Ma, Matthieu Jarrett and Henry Han.

The duo of Gilbert and Lynette took second place at districts and secured a spot at the Class 2A State Championships in the spring while Zhang fell to Sedro-Woolley’s Kyle Beuse in the consolation semifinals. Ma and Jarrett fell in the consolation quarterfinals to teammates Han and Dane Faris, who lost in the next round.

Bellingham also earned plenty of recognition on the first team with Austin Shenton, Henry Ziels and Zach Nolan all earning spots. Shenton finished third in singles at districts while Ziels and Nolan took fourth. Red Raiders’ Jonny Larson and Ignacio Gonzalez both received second-team bids.

Squalicum’s dynamic duo of Colin Weller, who burst onto the scene as a freshman, and Kevin Smiley were the Storm’s only first-team selections. The duo took third place at districts.

Rounding out the first team was Ferndale’s Tate Freeman, Sedro-Woolley’s Beuse and Burlington-Edison’s Colton Saben.

The second team included Anacortes’ Cooper Huntley, Ryan Campbell and Derek Vance, Lynden’s Tore Olson and Carson Smith, Ferndale’s Tommy Lyons and Burlington-Edison’s Connor Atkinson.

All-Northwest Conference Boys’ Tennis

MVP: Max Shmotolohka (Sehome); First team: Austin Shenton (Bellingham), Colin Weller (Squalicum), Reece Gilbert (Sehome), Henry Ziels (Bellingham), Shane Lynette (Sehome), Kyle Beuse (Sedro-Woolley), Kevin Smiley (Squalicum), Colton Saben (Burlington-Edison), Tate Freeman (Ferndale), William Zhang (Sehome), Zach Nolan (Bellingham); Second team: Cooper Huntley (Anacortes), Darren Ma (Sehome), Tore Olson (Lynden), Matthieu Jarrett (Sehome), Tommy Lyons (Ferndale), Derek Vance (Anacortes), Henry Han (Sehome), Ryan Campbell (Anacortes), Ignacio Gonzalez (Bellingham), Carson Smith (Lynden), Jonny Larson (Bellingham), Connor Atkinson (Burlington-Edison).