Several Whatcom races could be hotly contested this summer, fall

The Olympian

A few Whatcom County races could shape up to be competitive this election season, after candidates had to file their intent to run by Friday afternoon, May 20.

Among those up for re-election in November are Republican state Reps. Vincent Buys and Luanne Van Werven, both of whom represent the 42nd District in the House. That district covers north Bellingham and most of Whatcom County.

Van Werven, nearing the end of her first term in the state Legislature, is up against three challengers. They include “independent conservative” Doug Karlberg, perhaps best known around the Port of Bellingham, where he keeps a watchful eye; Democrat Sharlaine LaClair, a member of Lummi Nation who has served on their planning commission; and Libertarian Jacob Lamont, owner of Evergreen Cannabis in Blaine.

Buys, finishing up his third term, also will face three challengers in the top-two primary in August. They include Libertarian Jerry Burns of Maple Falls, Independent Dale Dickson of Everson, and Democrat Tracy Atwood of Bellingham.

State Sen. Kevin Ranker, the Democrat representing the 40th District, which covers most of Bellingham and areas to the south, is challenged by Republican Daniel R. Miller, while the 40th District Reps. Kristine Lytton and Jeff Morris received no challengers.

As for state and national races, Democratic U.S. Sen. Patty Murray has 16 – count them, 16 – challengers, making Democratic U.S. Reps. Suzan DelBene and Rick Larsen’s five-person contests look simple.

The office of Washington State Governor is almost as contested as Murray’s seat, with incumbent Democrat Jay Inslee up against 10 challengers.

With the retirement of Lt. Governor Brad Owen, who served five 4-year terms making him the longest-serving elected official in the state, the race was left open, attracting nearly a dozen candidates.

Below is a list of all candidates who filed to run. Local offices are emphasized, and candidates are listed in the order they appeared on the Whatcom County Auditor’s website.

(I) indicates incumbent, and preferred parties are listed.

State Representative, 42nd Legislative District Position 1, 2-year term

Luanne Van Werven (I) - Republican Party

Doug Karlberg - states no party preference, calls himseld an “independent conservative”

Sharlaine LaClair - Democratic Party

Jacob Lamont - Libertarian Party

State Representative, 42nd Legislative District Position 2, 2-year term

Jerry Burns - Libertarian Party

Vincent Buys (I) - Republican Party

Dale Dickson - Independent

Tracy Atwood - Democratic Party

State Senator, 40th Legislative District, 4-year term

Kevin Ranker (I) - Democratic Party

Daniel R. Miller - Republican Party

State Representative, 40th Legislative District Position 1, 2-year term

Kristine Lytton (I) - Democratic Party

State Representative, 40th Legislative District Position 2, 2-year term

Jeff Morris (I) - Democratic Party

Public Utility District 1, Commissioner District 3, 6-year term, nonpartisan

Mike Murphy

U.S. Senator, 6-year term

Sam Wright - Human Rights Party

Patty Murray (I) - Democratic Party

Mike Luke - Libertarian Party

Donna Rae Lands - Conservative Party

Chris Vance - Republican Party

Uncle Mover - Republican Party

Chuck Jackson - Independent Party

Philip L. Cornell - Democratic Party

Alex Tsimerman - StandUpAmerica Party

Ted Cummings - Independent

Scott Nazarino - Republican Party

Pano Churchill - Lincoln Caucus Party

Mohammed Said - Democratic Party

Thor Amundson - Democratic Party

Jeremy Teuton - System Reboot Party

Zach Haller - Independent

Eric John Makus - Republican Party

U.S. Representative, 1st Congressional District, 2-year term

Suzan DelBene (I) - Democratic Party

Robert J. Sutherland - Republican Party

Alex Storms - Independent

Scott Stafne - Libertarian Party

John Orlinski - Republican Party

U.S. Representative, 2nd Congressional District, 2-year term

Brian Luke - Libertarian Party

Marc Hennemann - Republican Party

Rick Larsen (I) - Democratic Party

Kari Ilonummi - no party preference

Mike Lapointe - Democratic Party

Washington State

Governor, 4-year term

Bill Hirt - Republican Party

Patrick O’Rourke - Democratic Party

Jay Inslee (I) - Democratic Party

David W. Blomstrom - Fifth Republic Party

Mary Martin - Socialist Worker Party

Steve Rubenstein - Independent

Bill Bryant - Republican Party

Goodspaceguy - Republican Party

Johnathan Dodds - Democrat Party

Christian Pierre Joubert - Holistic Party

James Robert Deal - Democratic Party

Lt. Governor, 4-year term

Mark Greene - Citizens Party

Paul Addis - Libertarian Party

Cyrus Habib - Democratic Party

Karen Fraser - Democratic Party

Phillip Yin - Republican Party

Steve Hobbs - Democratic Party

Javier H. Figueroa - Republican Party

Marty McClendon - Republican Party

Bill Penor - Republican Party

Daniel B. Davies - no party preference

Karen Wallace - Democratic Party

Secretary of State, 4-year term

Tina Podlodowski - Democratic Party

Kim Wyman (I) - Republican Party

Tim Turner - Libertarian Party

State Treasurer, 4-year-term

John Paul Comerford - Democratic Party

Michael Waite - Republican Party

Alec Fisken - Democratic Party

Duane Davidson - Republican Party

Marko Liias - Democratic Party

State Auditor, 4-year term

Pat (Patrice) McCarthy - Democratic Party

Mark Miloscia - Republican Party

Jeff Sprung - Democratic Party

Mark Wilson - Independent

David Golden - no party preference

Attorney General, 4-year term

Bob Ferguson (I) - Democratic Party

Joshua B. Trumbull - Libertarian Party

Commissioner of Public Lands, 4-year term

Hilary Franz - Democratic Party

Karen Porterfield - Democratic Party

Steve McLaughlin - Republican Party

Dave Upthegrove - Democratic Party

Mary Verner - Democratic Party

Steven M. Nielson - Libertarian Party

John Stillings - Democratic Party

Superintendent of Public Instruction, 4-year term, nonpartisan

Chris Reykdal

Erin Jones

KumRoon (Mr. Mak) Maksirisombat

Robin Fleming

Ron Higgins

Grazyna Prouty

David Spring

John Patterson Blair

Al Runte

Insurance Commissioner, 4-year term

Mike Kreidler (I) - Democratic Party

Justin Murta - Libertarian Party

Richard Schrock - Republican Party

Supreme Court

Justice Position 1, 6-year term

Mary Yu (I)

David DeWolf

Justice Position 5, 6-year term

Barbara Madsen (I)

Greg Zempel

(Zamboni) John Scannell

Justice Position 6, 6-year term

Charles (Charlie) Wiggins (I)

Dave Larson

Whatcom Superior Court

Judge Position 1, 4-year term

Ira Uhrig (I)

Judge Position 2, 4-year term

Deborra Garrett (I)

Judge Position 3, 4-year term

Charles R. Snyder (I)

Judge Position 4, 4-year term

Raquel Montoya-Lewis (I)

Samantha Wohlfeil: 360-715-2274, @SAWohlfeil