Entertainment

Books: Roderick Kimball debuts new logic puzzles

Roderick Kimball’s new book, “Path Puzzles,” presents logic puzzles in the vein of Sudoku and Ken Ken. The puzzles progress through seven levels of difficulty. New logical concepts are introduced at the third and fourth levels, making the puzzles even more interesting thereafter. In the eighth level, the clues are encrypted, necessitating an extra layer of deduction.

Kimball will share his book, which also comes in iPhone app form, at 4 p.m. Sunday, July 26, at Village Books, 1200 11th St.

Kimball is a freelance puzzle maker and all-around idea guy. He has written puzzles for The New York Times, Unemployed Philosophers’ Guild, the National Museum of Mathematics, and NPR’s “Ask Me Another.” He is also a juggler-musician-funnyman with the Flying Karamazov Brothers, performs with the New Old Time Chautauqua and leads a band, The Maestrosities.

More on him at rodkimball.com, and on his book at pathpuzzles.com.

  Comments