Governor appoints 2 to state Fish and Wildlife Commission

Fishing columnist Dave Graybill and retired public health physician Kim Thorburn have been appointed to the state Fish and Wildlife Commission.

The pair was appointed by Gov. Jay Inslee Friday.

Graybill will serve a term ending Dec. 31, 2020. An avid angler who lives in Leavenworth, Graybill writes sport fishing columns for Washington newspapers and has a regular radio broadcast. A long-time Washington resident, he participates in several outdoors organizations, including the Icicle Valley Chapter of Trout Unlimited and the Coastal Conservation Association. He also has served on the Columbia River Salmon and Steelhead Endorsement Board. Graybill is a graduate of the University of Washington.

Graybill succeeded Rollie Schmitten of Leavenworth, who did not seek re-appointment when his term expired at the beginning of this year.

Thorburn, a Spokane resident, fills a vacant eastern Washington position that runs through 2016. Thorburn has degrees from Stanford University and the University of California at San Francisco. She previously worked as a professor of medicine for the University of Hawaii, as the director for Spokane Regional Health District and, most recently, as the medical director for Planned Parenthood of the Inland Northwest. Thorburn has held offices for the Spokane Audubon Society and Washington Ornithological Society and was the recipient of the Department of Fish and Wildlife’s 2010 Volunteer of the Year award for her efforts to help bring sage grouse and sharp-tailed grouse back to Lincoln County.

The commission is a nine-member citizen panel that sets policy for the Department of Fish and Wildlife. Members are appointed by the governor to six-year terms and are subject to state Senate confirmation. Three members must reside in eastern Washington, three in western Washington, and three may live anywhere in the state. No two members may live in the same county.

“We’re extremely pleased to welcome these great additions to the commission,” Brad Smith, commission chairman, said in a news release. “These are two strong individuals and we are looking forward to seeing their perspectives brought to the table.”

The other commissioners are Larry Carpenter of Mount Vernon, Jay Holzmiller of Anatone, Jay Kehne of Omak, Robert Kehoe of Seattle, Conrad Mahnken of Bainbridge Island and Miranda Wecker of Naselle.