Community Sports

Last lap pass for Price seals win at Skagit

Fans walked out of Skagit Speedway on Saturday night, May 2, marveling at yet another fantastic 360 Sprint Car main event, as Robbie Price won the second leg of the 2015 Summer Thunder Sprintcar Series presented by Here 2 Wire and Finishline Graphics. Joining Price in victory lane were Garrett Thomas in the Northwest Focus Midget Series and Lawrence O’Conner in the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds.

Chase Goetz led most of the race, but Price picked his spot and overtook Goetz on a turn with only a lap to go. From there Price was able to extend his lead and hold on for the win. Colton Heath, Skylar Gee and Steve Reeves were heat winners, and JJ Hickle was the fastest qualifier.

Lawrence O’Connor ran away with the modefieds race, winning both the main event and his heat. He led every lap of the final modefieds race. Kevin Smith won the other heat.

Garrett Thomas grabbed a lead in the Midget Series with only three laps remaining and kept the field at bay for a main event win. Ryan Cully and Dougie James were the heat winners.