High School Football

Hoskins, Lawrence earn two first-team selections

The Lummi Blackhawks put together yet another fine season, reaching the Class 1B State Playoffs before losing to rival Neah Bay in the Tacoma Dome.

Behind the success was a cast of talented players, and the Blackhawks were rewarded when the all-NWFL football team was recently released.

Hank Hoskins, who established himself as a force on both sides of the football, was a first-team selection at both running back and linebacker. But Hoskins wasn’t the only Lummi player who earned dual first-team picks.

“Hanks has a nose for the football and is defensive captain, and he is a big kid,” Lummi coach Jim Sandusky said earlier in the year in a phone interview. “He can run and he’s fast, and he’s a hitter, too. He’s he perfect middle linebacker for us.”

Senior offensive and defensive lineman Adam Lawrence was a first-team selection on the offensive line and also was a first-team pick on the defensive line.

“On the offensive line he is big for us,” Sandusky said of Lawrence. “He moves fairly well, and on the defensive line he holds his gaps and does a pretty good job of getting to the football for as big as he is.”

Other first-team Lummi selections included receiver Dean Williams and defensive end Willie Jones.

Devin Lawrence, the Blackhawks’ center, was a second-team offensive line selection, and Lummi had a number of second-team defensive picks.

Linebacker Devin Cooper, defensive lineman Free Borsey, defensive end Jason James and defensive back Williams each were awarded second-team selections.




Quarterback: Aryik Miranda, Tulalip

Running back: Vinnie Kramer, Lopez; Hank Hoskins, Lummi; Cole Svec, Neah Bay

Offensive line: Nate Williams, Tulalip; Jarickson Kanichy, Neah Bay; Adam Lawrence, Lummi

Receiver/tight end: Dean Williams, Lummi; John Reamer, Neah Bay


Linebackers: Vinnie Kramer, Lopez; Hank Hoskins, Lummi; Josh Monette, Neah Bay

Defensive line: Adam Lawrence, Lummi; Roland Ganon, Neah Bay

Defense end: John Reamer, Neah Bay; Willie Jones, Lummi; Elisha Winck, Neah Bay

Defensive back: Cameron Buzzell, Neah Bay; Aryik Miranda, Tulalip

Special teams: Robert Miles, Tulalip



Quarterback: Randy Gruenwald, Lopez

Running back: Edwin Kramer, Lopez; Robert Miles, Tulalip

Offensive line: Kelly Gregory, Clallam Bay; Daniel Kilmer, Neah Bay; Devin Lawrence, Lummi

Receiver/tight end: Jacob Roberts, Lummi; Zach Fletcher, Crescent; Trevor Fryberg, Tulalip; Camoran Buzzell


Linebacker: Edwin Kramer, Lopez; Josh Monette, Neah Bay; Casey Randall, Clallam Bay; Devin Cooper, Lummi

Defensive line: Free Borsey, Lummi; Kenrick Doherty, Neah Bay

Defensve end: Trevor Fryberg, Tulalip; Jason James, Lummi; Tony Ahonen, Lopez

Defensive back: Dean Williams, Lummi; Cole Svec, Neah Bay; Clayton Willis, Clallam Bay

Special team: Casey Randall, Clallam Bay; Hank Hoskins, Lummi