High School Football

Lynden, Lummi feeling déjà vu in semifinals

Repeat or revenege?

It depends which Whatcom County football team you’re speaking about this week.

While Lynden would be more than happy for a repeat, Lummi would certainly prefer a different outcome.

The 2014 Washington Interscholastic Activities Association released its pairings for the state football semifinals, and it looks very similar to the 2013 state semifinals.

For the second straight year, the Lions will head to the east side of the Cascades to face Ellensburg in the Class 2A state semifinals at Lion’s Field in Moses Lake, while the Blackhawks will face rival Neah Bay in the Tacoma Dome in the Class 1B semifinals. Both games will be played Saturday, Nov. 29, with Lynden’s game kicking off at 1 p.m. and Lummi’s to follow at 4 p.m.

Lynden won a defensive battle with the Bulldogs 21-7 in chilly Moses Lake on its was to claiming a third-straight 2A state title last year. The Lions held the Bulldogs to 52 yards rushing on 21 attempts and forced a pair of turnovers. That allowed Lynden to score 21 straight points after spotting Ellensburg the game’s first score in the second quarter.

The Bulldogs once again enter with an unblemish 12-0 record this year after beating Olympic 48-13 in the opening round and Prosser 34-20 in last week’s quarterfinals. They are seeking thier first trip to a state championship game since they won the Class 3A state title in 1973.

Lynden (11-1) beat Hockinson 52-28 in the quarterfinals on Saturday, Nov. 22, at Civic Stadium, one week after dispatching with River Ridge 41-21 in the opening round. The Lions are attempting to advance to the state title game for a fourth straight year, the sixth time in seven years and the 12th time in program history.

The other side of the bracket will feature Sedro-Woolley (11-1) facing Tumwater (12-0) at 1 p.m. Saturday at the Tacoma Dome. The Cubs are attempting to make it to a state final for the first time since 1983, while the Thunderbirds have three of the past four seasons and seven times previously.

Saturday’s game between Lummi and Neah Bay actually will mark the third straight year Lummi and Neah Bay have met in the 1B state semifinals — the previous two being won by the Red Devils 46-14 in 2013 and 40-30 in 2012. In fact, Neah Bay has eliminated the Lummi three straight years, dating back to a 58-40 win in the first round of the 2011 state playoffs at Civic Stadium

In 2009 and 2010, it was the Blackhawks who played the big, bad bully, eliminating the Red Devils in two straight state semifinals, making this this sixth straight year the two teams have met in the playoffs.

Lummi (9-3) advanced to this year’s playoff matchup with a 52-0 victory at Lyle-Wishram in the first round and a 60-14 drubbing of Lopez Island in the quarterfinals on Friday, Nov. 21. The Blackhawks are seeking their first trip to the state championship game since they won the state title in 2010 and their fourth appearance overall.

Neah Bay (12-0) followed a 78-30 win over Patero in the first round with a 74-12 quartefinal victory over Lake Quinault-Wishkah Valley on Saturday. The defending state champs are attempting to get back to the final for the fourth straight year and the sixth time in program history.

The Red Devils already own a pair of victories over the Blackhawks — a 38-26 non-league win Sept. 12 at Neah Bay and a 50-38 Northwest 1B League win at Lummi on Oct. 17 — and they have won seven straight meetings between the schools since a 40-12 regular-season win by Lummi on Oct. 28, 2011.

The other 1B semifinal will feature Repbulic and Liberty Christian at 4 p.m. Saturday at Edgar Brown Stadium in Pasco. The Tigers (12-1) are seeking their first trip to a championship game since 2004, while the Patriots (12-0) won the 2012 state title in their only other playoff appearance.

Other action at the Tacoma Dome will feature: Toledo and Napavine in a 2B semifinal at 4 p.m. Friday, Nov. 28; Marysville-Pilchuck and Bellevue in a 3A semifinal at 7:30 p.m. Friday; Eatonville and Cascade Christian in a 1A semifinal at 10 a.m. Saturday; Bothell and Bellevue Newport in a 4A semifinal at 7:30 p.m. Saturday.

Lind-Ritzvile-Sprague and Okanogan will play a 2B semifinal after the Lynden-Ellensburg game at 4 p.m. Saturday at Moses Lake, while Graham Kapowsin and Chiawana will play a 4A semifinals at 1 p.m. Saturday at Edgar Brown Stadium in Pasco.

Joe Albi Stadium will play host to a 1A semifinal between Leavenworth Cascade and Colville at 1 p.m. Saturday and a 3A semifinal between Eastside Catholic and Mt. Spokane at 4 p.m.

Whatcom County teams in the state semfinals

Year Class Opponent Result
1987 3A Tumwater L 8-2
Year Class Opponent Result
1978 1A Eatonville W 39-8
Year Class Opponent Result
1995 3A O’Dea L 36-0
1997 3A Newport W 28-17
1999 3A Prosser L 21-17
2004 3A Kelso W 45-6
2005 3A Kennedy W 41-13
Year Class Opponent Result
2005 1B LaCrosse/Washtucna L 66-28
2006 1B Touchet W 26-20
2007 1B Almira/Coulee-Hartline L 80-50
2009 1B Neah Bay W 64-36
2010 1B Neah Bay W 61-14
2012 1B Neah Bay L 40-30
2013 1B Neah Bay L 46-14
Year Class Opponent Result
1977 1A Winlock L 6-0
1980 1A North Mason W 22-19
1987 1A Forks W 28-10
1988 1A Castle Rock L 21-14
1991 1A Lynden Christian W 21-10
1998 3A Mariner L 35-26
2001 3A Yakima West Valley W 30-24
2002 3A Lakes W 55-21
2004 3A Bellevue L 41-21
2006 2A Tumwater W 20-10
2007 2A Prosser L 47-30
2008 2A Archbishop Murphy W 21-13
2009 2A Archbishop Murphy W 38-14
2011 2A Chehalis W.F. West W 17-7
2012 2A Capital W 48-21
2013 2A Ellensburg W 21-7
Year Class Opponent Result
1986 1A Tenino W 14-0
1991 1A Lynden L 21-10
1993 1A Montesano W 24-21
1997 1A Concrete W 21-14
2001 2A Elma L 20-16
2002 2A Elma L 20-19
Year Class Opponent Result
1984 1A Montesano W 19-9
1992 1A Eatonville L 27-24
1995 1A Ridgefield L 40-9
1996 1A Toledo L 20-19
1999 2A Orting W 61-21
2000 2A Castle Rock W 14-7
2003 2A La Center W 28-26
2006 1A Royal W 13-7
2010 1A Cascade Christian L 21-0
Year Class Opponent Result
2012 1A Montesano L 28-6
2013 1A Cascade Christian W 31-28
Year Class Opponent Result
1975 1A Raymond L 24-0
2009 1A Cascade Christian L 28-12