High School Basketball

Governor Inslee tabs Lummi boys’ basketball Team of the Year

Washington Governor Jay Inslee recently tabbed the Lummi Blackhawks boys’ basketball team the Team of the Year for their historic Class 1B State Tournament championship.

Lummi put together a 27-0 season and met little resistance during its run to the program’s first ever boys’ basketball championship. The Blackhawks beat rival Neah Bay 54-33 during the Class 1B championship game.

The title game marked the first time two Native American teams faced off for a state championship in Washington, and Lummi’s win was the first time a Native team had won the boys’ 1B championship.

“We’re proud of our players for putting in all the hard work that led to the victory,” said Tim Ballew II, chairman of the Lummi Indian Business Council, in a news release. “Hard work leads to wins on and off the court. We look forward to the continued success of all our students at the Lummi Nation Schools.”

The undefeated season landed the Blackhawks’ players several accolades.

Sophomore forward Trazil Lane, who averaged 18.2 points per game, was selected the Associated Press Class 1B State Player of the Year, and he also was awarded the Northwest League’s Most Valuable Player.

Austin Brockie, who averaged 14.2 points per game, was an AP all-state honorable mention and a first-team all-Northwest League pick, Dino Williams (8.0 ppg) was a first-team all-NWL selection and Kavarez Lane (10.6 ppg) was a second-team all-NWL pick and was chosen to play in the WIBCA all-state game.

Blackhawks coach Jerome Toby was selected the WIBCA Coach of the Year.

“For me, when you get a group of boys who play unselfishly, play for the right reasons and have fun doing it, it makes it easy to coach,” Toby said in a press release. “I’ve just got to be out there for the boys.”

Correction: Jerome Toby was selected WIBCA Coach of the Year, not Logan Toby as was written in the original version of this story. Corrected Thursday, April 2, 2015