High School Basketball

Lummi’s Lane selected AP Player of the Year

A state title, a perfect record, topping rival Neah Bay three times in a year, Lummi sophomore Trazil Lane probably had everything he had hoped for in a season.

But the accolades weren’t done rolling in.

On Tuesday, March 31, Lane capped off a tremendous season by being named the Associated Press Class 1B Player of the Year.

Lane finished with 18.2 points per game. He only scored in single digits twice and tallied at least 20 points 10 times during the season, including a five-game streak of doing so.

The lengthy, athletic hard worker led the Blackhawks to a perfect record and the school’s first state title by dominating the interior of overmatched 1B teams all season long.

But he wasn’t the only Whatcom County player to earn recognition on the Associated Press All-State teams.

Lynden’s Scooter Hastings and Lynden Christian’s Cody Fransen both earned first-team selections on the boys’ side.

For the girls, Ferndale’s Linsey Honeycutt, Mount Baker’s Emily Yost and Lynden Christian’s Kara Bajema all earned first-team honors.

Hastings averaged 15.3 points per game as his team fell in the Class 2A regional, Fransen averaged 15.9 points as he led the Lyncs to a state title game appearance, Honeycutt capped her Golden Eagles’ career by averaging 20.3 points per game, Yost led the league with 20.4 points per game and Bajema averaged 15.5 points per game for Class 1A’s fourth-place team.

Earning honorable mentions for was LC’s Zach Roetcisoender, Meridian’s Alex Martin, Lummi’s Austin Brockie and Lynden’s Elisa Kooiman.

Sedro-Woolley’s Jackson Price was named Class 2A’s Player of the Year after averaging a league-high 24 points per game.

2015 Associated Press All-State Basketball Teams


Class 3A

Player of the Year: Dejounte Murray (Rainier Beach); First team: Isiah Brown (Lakeside), Matisse Thybulle (Eastside Catholic), Jayle Nowell (Garfield), JaQuori McLaughlin (Peninsula); Honorable mention: Dom Green (Hazen), David Jenkins Jr. (Wilson), Michael Painter (Marysville-Pilchuck), Alphonso Anderson (Garfield), Shadeed Shabazz (Rainier Beach).

Class 2A

Player of the Year: Jackson Price (Sedro-Woolley); First team: Trevon Allen (Clarkston), Grant Gibb (Mark Morris), David Cooper (Tumwater), Scooter Hastings (Lynden). Honorable mention: Ty Johnson (Anacortes), TJ Mickelson (Black Hills), Alex Barry (Sequim), Drew Magoay (Shorecrest).

Class 1A

Player of the Year: Justin Dunsmore (Zillah); First team: Cody Fransen (Lynden Christian), Corey Kispert (King’s), Brock Johnson (Castle Rock), Colton Raben (Forks); Honorable mention: Jessie Norton (Vashon Island), Kienan Walter (King’s Way Christian), Tyler Axtell (Riverside), Alex Martin (Meridian), Ty Johnson (Castle Rock), Zach Roetcisoender (Lynden Christian).

Class 1B

Player of the Year: Trazil Lane (Lummi); First team: Abraham Venske (Neah Bay), Keanu Curleybear (Taholah), Tyler Thurman (Garfield-Palouse); Honorable mention: Alec Buff (Cusick), Austin Brockie (Lummi), Nathan Powers (Bickleton), Tyson Feider (Pomeroy), Xavier Turner (Seattle Lutheran).


Class 3A

Player of the Year: Mikayla Pivec (Lynnwood); First team: Linsey Honeycutt (Ferndale), Lydia Giomi (West Seattle), Shelby Cansler (Bellevue), Jayde Christopher (Cleveland); Honorable mention: Tea Adams (Juanita), Cherita Daugherty (Prairie), Jessica Ludwig (Arlington), Jordyn Edwards (Lynnwood), Jadyn Bush (Blanchet).

Class 2A

Player of the Year: Kourtney Eaton (Mark Morris); First team: Karley Eaton (Mark Morris), Tiana Parker (W.F. West), Rebekah Baugh (North Kitsap), Julie Spencer (W.F. West); Honorable mention: Ashley Coons (Mark Morris), Elisa Kooiman (Lynden), Lexi Carpenter (East Valley), Karly Malcolm (Ellensburg), Amanda Lance (White River).

Class 1A

Player of the Year: Savanna Hanson (King’s); First team: Jordan Spradlin (Montesano), Emily Yost (Mount Baker), Kara Bajema (Lynden Christian), Jocelyn Cook-Cox (Lakeside). Honorable mention: Parker Esary (Kalama), Izzy Severns (Klahowya), Breane Knishka (Cashmere), Alexis Castro (Granger), Angelica Oliveros (Granger), Katie Whitten (La Center), Alexis Higginbotham (Zillah), Megan Choate (Montesano).

Class 1B

Player of the Year: Zoe Moser (Colton); First team: Cierra Jo McKeown (Touchet), Faye Chartraw (Neah Bay), Katelyn Bancks (Sunnyside Christian), Jacqueline Case (Mount Vernon Christian); Honorable mention: Savannah Chadwick (Colton), Cailyn Cattell (Crosspoint), Desere’e Doty (Crosspoint), Ellie Chapman (Naselle).