High School Basketball

Honeycutt wins MVP on All-NWC team

Ferndale girls’ basketball player Linsey Honeycutt made a name for herself as a four-year starter under coach Mike Ivy. She was rewarded for her efforts with an All-Northwest Conference Most Valuable Player selection, which was announced Monday, March 9.

Honeycutt was the Golden Eagles’ only player earning All-NWC team honors. The team was voted on by coaches around the conference.

The 6-foot post averaged 20.4 points per game, helping Ferndale to an 18-5 record. Her best night came during the second game of the season, as she scored 33 points against Mount Baker.

Highlighting the first team was two selections from Lynden Christian, as both Kara Bajema and Sara Dougan took the honors. Bajema averaged 15.5 points per game and Dougan put up 9.7 per game, as the two combined for one of the best duos in the state, and one of the few duos that both towered over 6 feet. The two led the Lyncs to a fourth-place Class 1A State Tournament finish.

Whatcom County picked up four other first-team selections.

Mount Baker’s Emily Yost, who averaged a league-high 20.4 points per game including a 46-point night against Oak Harbor, received honors. Nooksack Valley’s Mariah Perry, who led her team to a Class 1A State Tournament regional while averaging 10.5 points per game, also was named to the first-team.

Blaine’s Mandy Hayes, another player who helped her team to a regional round game, averaged 13.0 points per game on her way to the first team, as did Lynden’s Elisa Kooiman, who’s 17.3 points per game were enough for a first-team selection. Rounding out the first team was Burlington-Edison’s Edie Breckenridge.

Whatcom County second-teamers included Lynden’s Kaitlyn Mark (13.8 points per game), Meridian’s Ryley Zapien (12.8), Sehome’s Maddy Bryan (13.0), Baker’s Emily Brandland (14.8) and Blaine’s Breanna Chau (8.3) and Taylor V’Dovec (9.9).

Burlington-Edison’s Tyra Lopez and Anacortes’ Hope Hurtado finished off the second team.

Sehome’s Kim Kirk was selected Coach of the Year.