High School Basketball

13 county players all-NWC selections

The All-Northwest Conference boys’ basketball team was released Monday, March 9, and 13 of the 16 first- and second-teamers were Whatcom County players.

Sedro-Woolley’s Jackson Price, who averaged 24 points a game and wowed crowds with his offensive ability, was selected the league’s MVP. Anacortes coach Brett Senff, who led the Seahawks to the Class 2A State Tournament title game, and Mount Baker’s Rob Gray were selected Co-Coaches of the Year.

First-team selections included Lynden’s Scooter Hastings (15.3 points per game) and Sterling Somers (17.6 ppg), Anacortes’ Ty Johnson (16.1) Meridian’s Alex Martin (19.7), Squalicum’s Damek Mitchell (16.2), Ferndale’s Austin Honeycutt (19.4) and Sehome’s Leif Anderson (14.7).

Hastings and Somers gave the Lions a lethal one-two punch with their length and versatility. They guided Lynden to the regional round of the Class 2A State Tournament, where it suffered a season-ending loss to Mark Morris.

Martin followed a breakout junior season with another tremendous year, further cementing himself as one of the purest scorers in not only Whatcom County, but the entire NWC. Martin helped the Trojans reach the Class 1A District Tournament and finish 13-11 overall.

Mitchell developed into one of the top overall players in the conference. He recorded a ton of assists and rebounds to go with his premier ball handling and scoring ability. Mitchell also was tremendous defensively and was a first-team Hardwood Classic selection.

Honeycutt used his size and strength extremely well and his 19.4 points per game finished third in the NWC, behind only Price and Martin. He helped Ferndale reach the Class 3A District Tournament and finish 15-8 overall.

Anderson again gave the Mariners a tremendous 3-point shooting threat, establishing himself as arguably the best long-range shooter in the NWC. He helped Sehome place fourth in Class 2A with a 20-9 overall record.

Second-team all-NWC selections included Squalicum’s Josiah Westbrook (16.9), Lynden Christian’s Zach Roetcisoender (17.0) and Cody Fransen (15.9), Anacortes’ Jordan Neville (13.0), Sehome’s Tanner Clark (10.5), Ferndale’s John Weg (13.2), Mount Baker’s Timothy Soares (13.5) and Bellingham’s Kyle Hofstetter (10.7).