High School Basketball

5 county players selected to play in WIBCA all-state game

Five Whatcom County boys’ basketball players have been selected by the Washington Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Association to play in the annual WIBCA all-state games, which will take place at various times Saturday, March 14, at Eastside Catholic High School in Sammamish.

Lynden’s Scooter Hastings and Sehome’s Leif Anderson have been selected to the Class 2A team, Lynden Christian’s Cody Fransen and Meridian’s Alex Martin have been selected to the 1A team and Lummi’s Kavarez Lane will play for the 1B team.

Hastings also was selected Class 2A’s Player of the Year, and Lummi coach Jerome Toby, who led the Blackhawks to their first ever basketball state title and an undefeated record, was selected Class 1B’s Coach of the Year.

Three games will be played, featuring Class 1B’s team vs. Class 2B at 2 p.m. Saturday, Class 1A vs. 2A at 4 p.m. and Class 3A vs. 4A at 6 p.m. Doors open at 1 p.m. and cost to attend is $10 for adults and $8 for seniors, high school students and children under 12.

The WIBCA also will be selecting a state Player of the Year, Coach of the Year and Mr. Basketball.

Former Washington state basketball greats to play in the showcase event include John Stockton, Luke Ridnour, Aaron Brooks, Nate Robinson, Brandon Roy and Zach LaVine.