High School Sports

Whatcom County dominates All-NWC girls’ golf team

Following in her sister’s footsteps, Lynden girls’ golfer Jade Ming solidified herself as the top newcomer in the Northwest Conference.

Last year, Emily Ming took home All-Northwest Conference first-team honors in her first and senior season for the Lions. Jade Ming topped that accomplishment by winning the All-NWC Player of the Year as a freshman.

The final team was decided by stroke averages compiled by Burlington-Edison coach Greg Knutzen after the final matches completed this week.

Ming’s 18-hole average of 86.2 was more than three strokes better than the next closest competitor. Her best score was an 81 at North Bellingham Golf Course on May 5. While she was the only Lynden golfer to earn All-NWC honors, she highlighted a team heavily featuring other Whatcom County golfers.

Joining Ming on the first team was Squaliucm’s Christina Kim and Maddi Atwood-Knudson, Bellingham’s Alex Ferrier, Sadie Steele and Emma Lochridge, Mount Baker’s Natalie Verry and Gemma Wilson and Meridian’s Anna Ratzlaff.

Kim (89.4 18-hole average), Atwood-Knudson (91.0) and Ferrier (91) clearly distinguished themselves from the rest of the pack with their stroke average, with the next closest being Ratzlaff at 96.6.

On the second team was Mount Baker’s Bria Henthorn, Ferndale’s Cienna Semsak, Bellingham’s Erin Wood, Squalicum’s Jordan Flannery and Sehome’s Hannah Peterson.

It wasn’t until the 15th-lowest stroke average that a Skagit County golfer appeared, as the southern county finished off the second team with the final four spots. Anacortes’ Lexi Connors, Sedro-Woolley’s Kelsey Johnson and Burlington-Edison’s Lindzey Jaderlund and Sonja Eger all earned second-team honors.

The Coach of the Year was not made available at press time.

All-Northwest Conference Girls’ Golf Team

MVP: Jade Ming (Lynden); First team: Christina Kim (Squalicum), Maddi Atwood-Knudson (Squalicum), Alex Ferrier (Bellingham), Anna Ratzlaff (Meridian), Natalie Verry (Mount Baker, Sadie Steele (Bellingham), Gemma Wilson (Mount Baker), Emma Lochridge (Bellingham); Second team: Bria Henthorn (Mount Baker), Cienna Semsak (Ferndale), Erin Wood (Bellingham), Jordan Flannery (Squalicum), Hannah Peterson (Sehome), Lexi Connors (Anacortes), Kelsey Johnson (Sedro-Woolley), Lindzey Jaderlund (Burlington-Edison), Sonja Eger (Burlington-Edison).