High School Sports

Sehome gets 11 All-NWC selections

As anticipated, Sehome’s boys’ swim team made its presence known on the All-Northwest Conference team, earning 11 overall selections, including four first-team selections.

The Mariners, who took second at the state championships, tied with Anacortes for 11 overall selections on the All-NWC team. However, the state champion Seahawks earned five first-team picks.

Squalicum earned six selections, two of which were first-teamers, Bellingham earned three overall selections and Lynden got one second-team selection.

The All-NWC teams were announced Tuesday, Feb. 24.

Sehome’s first-teamers included Zach Shenkin (200 freestyle), Isaiah Grambo (50 freestyle), Colin Hakeman (500 freestyle) and the state champion 200 freestyle relay team of Josh Larson, Joseph Adams, Shenkin and Grambo.

The Storm’s Rowan King was the only swimmer to earn two individual first-team selections, as he picked up the honors in the 200 individual medley and the 100 breaststroke.

Shenkin and Grambo also had four selections. Shenkin added a second-team 100 butterfly pick to go along with his first-team 200 freestyle and two relay selections. Grambo got a second-team 100 freestyle pick to tag on to his 50 free first team and relay selections.

Other All-NWC swimmers for the Mariners included Hakeman’s third team in the 200 freestyle, Larson’s second team in the 50 freestyle and Rudi Berry’s third team in the 500 freestyle.

Squalicum had its 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay earn selections, as well as two diving selections. Wilson Dierdorff picked up second-team honors while Griffen Korby got third-team.

Bellingham’s Martin Sloley earned three third-team selections — the 200 IM, the 100 breaststroke and was part of Bellingham’s 200 freestyle relay team. Brisen Pearson picked up a third-team in the 100 butterfly to go along with his relay selection.

Lynden’s lone selection came from Michael Johnson, who picked up second-team honors in the 100 backstroke.

2015 NWC Boys All-Conference Team

200 medley relay: First Team: Anacortes (Michael Laws, Elliot Hofferth, Eric Olsen, Brett Johnson) 1:43.12; Second Team: Squalicum (Franz Allendorfer, Rowan King, Matt Lovell, Jonathan Hegeberg) 1:44.92; Third Team: Sehome (Calvin Richan, Joseph Adams, David Leung, Trevor Nims) 1:45.90; 200 freestyle: First Team: Zach Shenkin (Sehome) 1:44.44; Second Team: Danny Schleh (Anacortes) 1:47.94; Third Team: Colin Hakeman (Sehome) 1:49.29; 200 individual medley: First Team: Rowan King (Squalicum) 1:57.64; Second Team: Elliott Hofferth (Anacortes) 1:59.49; Third Team: Martin Sloley (Bellingham) 2:00.96; 50 freestyle: First Team: Isaiah Grambo (Sehome) 21.86; Second Team: Josh Larson (Sehome) 22.19; Third Team: Nathan Mathes (Anacortes) 22.49; Diving: First Team: Jared Hanson (Anacortes); Second Team: Wilson Dierdorff (Squalicum); Third Team: Griffen Korby (Squalicum); 100 butterfly: First Team: Elliott Hofferth (Anacortes) 52.90; Second Team: Zach Shenkin (Sehome) 53.31; Third Team: Brisen Pearson (Bellingham) 54.55; 100 freestyle: First Team: Eric Olsen (Anacortes) 48.37; Second Team: Isaiah Grambo (Sehome) 48.45; Third Team: Nick Turgeon-Orbe (Sedro Woolley) 48.96; 500 freestyle: First Team: Colin Hakeman (Sehome) 4:52.28; Second Team: Danny Schleh (Anacortes) 4:55.68; Third Team: Rudi Berry (Sehome) 4:57.94; 200 freestyle relay: First Team: Sehome (Josh Larson, Joseph Adams, Zach Shenkin, Isaiah Grambo) 1:28.55; Second Team: Anacortes (Nathan Mathes, Brett Johnson, Danny Schleh, Eric Olsen) 1:32.02; Third Team: Bellingham (Martin Sloley, Grant Hildreth, Christian Buhler, Brisen Pearson) 1:33.88; 100 backstroke: First Team: Nick Turgeon-Orbe (Sedro Woolley) 56.62; Second Team: Michael Johnson (Lynden) 59.36; Third Team: Andrew Hanson (Burlington Edison) 1:00.33; 100 breaststroke: First Team: Rowan King (Squalicum) 58.93; Second Team: Eric Olsen (Anacortes) 1:02.53; Third Team: Martin Sloley (Bellingham) 1:03.10; 400 freestyle relay: First Team: Anacortes (Elliot Hofferth, Michael Laws, Nathan Mathes, Danny Schleh) 3:16.14; Second Team: Sehome (Josh Larson, Trevor Nims, Zach Shenkin, Isaiah Grambo) 3:16.21; Third Team: Squalicum (Matt Lovell, Franz Allendorfer, Jonathan Hegeberg, Rowan King) 3:33.85.