High School Sports

Cooper’s late pin of Cruz highlights Storm-Lions wrestling

Jace Cooper and Primitivo Cruz battled for nearly five minutes in a back-and-forth 113-pound wrestling match, but Cooper was able to come out on top with a pin in 4:24. Cooper’s Squalicum boys’ wrestling team came out on top as well with a 66-15 win over Lynden on Wednesday, Dec. 17, at Lynden.

“Cooper and Cruz at 113 went the entire distance,” Lynden coach Alan Moore said in a phone interview. “Cooper ended up getting the pin, but it was entertaining.”

Cruz got the early lead 4-0, but Cooper battled back with a pair of near-falls before earning the win by pin, Squalicum coach Russell Robinson said in a phone interview.

Squalicum’s team leaders stepped up today, Robinson added.

The Storm’s Zach Wallace earned a quick 23-second pin in the 145-pound class over Nathan Rachinski.

“He’s that caliber of kid that he can do that (earn quick pins),” Robinson said. “He showed his teammates that he’s taking his role as a leader seriously.”

Added Moore: “He came out quick and he knew what he was going for.”

Cole Marlowe earned a 6-0 decision over Squalicum’s Max Angel, impressing his coach.

“Marlowe was working for the pin the entire match, but he couldn’t find it,” Moore said. “The other guy was defending really well, so the score doesn’t look like much, but Marlowe had him a couple of times where he could have stuck one on him.”

Squalicum will host the Graham Morin Invite at 10 a.m. Saturday, Dec. 20, bringing in a variety of area schools, including Lynden.

Squalicum 66, Lynden 15

106: John Zazalza (Squalicum) win by forfeit; 113: Jase Cooper (Squalicum) pin Primitivo Cruz 4:24; 120: Cruz Meza (Squalicum) win by forfeit; 126: Edgar Neri (Squalicum) win by forfeit; 132: Spencer Wallace (Squalicum) win by forfeit; 138: Isaac Bueno (Lynden) def. Raul Cruz 1:10; 145: Zach Wallace (Squalicum) pin Nathan Rachinski 0:23; 152: Cole Marlowe (Lynden) def Max Angel 6-0; 160: Cole Crass (Lynden) win by forfeit; 170: Jacob Burgoon (Squalicum) pin Reuben Perez 0:59; 182: Jake Burns (Squalicum) win by forfeit; 195: Alex Aguirre (Squalicum) pin Andy Hererra 2:10; 220: Justin McAuley (Squalicum) win by forfeit; 285: Andrew Napier (Squalicum) win by forfeit.