Northwest News

Tenino council members to challenge mayor Broderson in primary election

Two city council members have filed this week to run against Tenino Mayor Bret Brodersen, setting up a primary election showdown for the position.

John O’Callahan and Wayne Fournier both entered the race Monday as part of candidate filing week. Deadline for candidates to file is Friday, and the deadline to withdraw is Monday (May 18).

The primary election is slated for Aug. 4 and will include races with more than two candidates. The top two vote-getters in the primary will advance to the Nov. 3 general election.

Brodersen was appointed to the position in June 2013 and has filed to run for a full four-year term as mayor in 2015. However, Brodersen has received heavy criticism from the public — and a vote of no confidence from the Tenino City Council — over his decision to fire popular police chief John Hutchings.

O’Callahan and Fournier were among council members who approved the vote at an April 14 council meeting in which Brodersen stood his ground and said he would not resign.

Fournier’s current council term at position 5 expires at the end of the year. So far, two candidates have filed to run for his seat: Susan Copeland and Leslie Lamb. O’Callahan still has two years left in his term at council position 3.

The only other candidate to file so far for re-election is David Watterson, who holds council position 2. He is currently running unopposed.