Northwest News

Pierce County election filing, Day 2: A pair of Tacoma council races shaping up

There are now two races brewing on the Tacoma City Council as more candidates filed for office in Pierce County Tuesday.

Local attorney Conor McCarthy and high school teacher John Hines have both filed for at-large position 7. And Keith Blocker, who works for the Metropolitan Development Council, has joined the open contest for District 3 against Justin Leighton, government relations manager for Pierce Transit, and Kris Blondin, a Tacoma restaurateur.

The two remaining Tacoma council seats on the ballot have drawn filings only from the incumbents so far: Ryan Mello (at-large Position 8) and Anders Ibsen (District 1).

Likewise, the path looks clear right now for incumbents in bigger cities such as Lakewood and University Place, where there were no contested seats as of Tuesday.

Some other races that were shaping up at the end of Day 2:

• In Puyallup, the only contested City Council seat thus far is District 1, where planning commission member Pat McGregor has filed along with Robin Farris, who led an unsuccessful recall campaign against former County Assessor-Treasurer Dale Washam in 2011.

•  On the Tacoma School Board, three candidates have filed for the Position 4 seat currently held by Kurt Miller. They are Andrea Cobb, Alisa Regala O'Hanlon and David Carnahan.

A total of 202 people had filed as of Tuesday for some of the more than 200 local offices up for election this year on city and town councils; school, fire, parks and recreation, and water district boards; the Superior Court bench; and the Port of Tacoma commission. To see all the candidates as of Tuesday evening, click here. To file for office, click here.