Politics Blog

With one day left to file, 91 of 100 Whatcom County races uncontested

With only a day left for candidates to file, more than 90 percent of races were uncontested.

Notably, Bellingham’s mayor and four Bellingham City Council positions, two Whatcom County Council positions, three Ferndale City Council positions, and the Whatcom County Executive and Sheriff were all unchallenged as of Thursday evening.

Of 100 races in which candidates had filed by 5 p.m. Thursday, May 14, only nine had challengers.

Virtually all of the smaller races on the ballot were uncontested, including most of the fire district commissioner, school board member and cemetery district races.

The only Port of Bellingham Commission spot on the ballot this year is up for grabs, as incumbent Jim Jorgensen announced he would not run for re-election. Ferndale Mayor Gary Jensen, who announced his plans to run for the commission earlier this year, got a challenger early Thursday morning, when Robert “Bobby” Briscoe of Blaine filed for the race.

John Servais at NorthwestCitizen picked up on the same filing trend, and beat me to the punch with his post earlier this afternoon. He’s got an interesting commentary on how the online filing process has changed filing week.

Looks like all eyes (at least those of us who cover politics and others who are directly involved in it) will be on who files in the final hours tomorrow.

Here are some of today’s 17 filings:

Whatcom County

Council: Bruce Ayers, District 1B


Council: Joel Vande Hoef (I), Position 5


Council: Glenn Stewart, Position 4


Council: Scott Bodven (I), Position 4

Port of Bellingham

Commisioner: Robert “Bobby” Briscoe, District 3

Nooksack Valley School Board

Mark Olson (I), District 5

Concrete School District 11

Dolores Elliott (I), District 5, At-large

Fire District 8

Robert Neher (I), Position 3

Fire District 16

Ryan Lenssen (I), Position 1

Glacier Fire and Rescue

Tim Coralline (I), Position 1

Lake Whatcom Water and Sewer District

Bruce Ford (I), District 3, Leslie McRoberts (I), District 4

Point Roberts Park and Recreation District

Linda Hughes (I), Position 5

Lynden Park and Recreation District

Hank Roorda (I), Position 5