Politics Blog

Filing week: More candidates add their names to the ballot on Day 2

It’s Day 2 of filing week in Whatcom County, and the list of candidates who will appear on this year’s ballot has gotten slightly longer.

There are now four people running for Mayor of Ferndale, with Vicca Thompson joining J. Manuel Reta, Cathy Watson, and Jon Mutchler in the race.

Below is a partial list of those who have submitted their names to the county auditor. This list only includes information from those who filed on Tuesday, May 12, and a few afternoon and evening filings from Day 1 (these are noted on the list). For more Day 1 filings, check out this longer list from Ralph Schwartz yesterday evening.

The full list of 82 names (and growing) can be viewed on the Secretary of State’s website here. Incumbents are marked with an “(I).”

Whatcom County

Auditor: Debbie Adelstein (I)

Council: Theresa Sygitowicz, District 1B


Mayor: Kelli Linville (I)


Council: Mary Lou Steward, Ward 3 Position 5


Mayor: Vicca Thompson (Filed 5/11/15)

Council: Rebecca Xczar, Position 1 (Filed 5/11/15)


Council: Gary L. Bode (I), Position 1

Ferndale School Board

Hugh Foulke (I), District 3

Blaine School Board

John Freal, District 1; Joan Lotze (I), District 3; Todd Berge (I), District 2

Meridian School Board

Craig L. Wasilewski (I), District 1; Marty Gray (I), District 4

Nooksack Valley School Board

Cheryl Thornton (I), District 3

Mount Baker School Board

Trish Hart (I), District 3

Fire District 5

Stan Riffle (I), Position 1 (Filed 5/11/15)

South Whatcom Fire Authority

Stefen Paige, District 4 (Filed 5/11/15)

Point Roberts Park and Recreation District

Bennett Blaustein, Position 1, (Filed 5/11/15)

Blaine-Birch Bay Park and Recreation District

Jeffrey Carrington (I), Position 3

Chuckanut Community Forest Park District

John Hymas (I), Position 2