Politics Blog

Filing week Day 3: Republicans enter 3 key races

A Republican stepped up to challenge freshman U.S. Rep. Suzan DelBene, D-Medina, who represents rural Whatcom County and the small cities. Republicans also filed for two state House seats on Wednesday, May 14, Day 3 of candidate filing week in Washington.

One of the Republicans who would take DelBene's seat in D.C. is Ed Moats, a died-in-the-wool conservative Republican from Snohomish County. The national Democratic Party apparatus is concerned about this race but I haven't heard them talking about Moats. Mexican-born  Pedro Celis is perceived as the stronger Republican challenger to DelBene. Celis hasn't filed yet, but he announced his intent to run in February.

At the state level, Dan Miller of Friday Harbor, who prefers Republican, filed to challenge two-term representative Kristine Lytton, D-Anacortes. The Political Junkie had this news this morning.

Also filing for a House seat was Luanne Van Werven, former county Republican Party chairwoman and current state vice chair. She announced her bid for Jason Overstreet's position last week.

Here's a complete list of Wednesday's candidate filings, as of 5:45 p.m. (This is not all filings, just those from Wednesday. Previous filings are available on the Politics Blog):

1st Congressional District (King, Skagit, Snohomish, Whatcom)

U.S. Representative Partisan Office 2-year term

1) Edwin F. Moats

(Prefers G.O.P. Party)

* * *

40th Legislative District (San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom)

State Representative Pos. 1 Partisan Office 2-year term

1) Daniel R Miller

(Prefers Republican Party)

* * *

42nd Legislative District (Whatcom)

State Representative Pos. 1 Partisan Office 2-year term

1) Luanne VanWerven

(Prefers Republican Party)

* * *

Charter Review Commission Nonpartisan Office 1-year term

District 1

1) Larry Helm

2) Kent S. Murray

3) Tom Walstrom

4) Stoney Bird

* * *

District 2

1) Larry Nicholas

2) Stan Snapp

3) Sherryl (Sherry) Nelson

4) Kate Blystone

5) Rebecca Boonstra

* * *

District 3

1) Chris Johnson