Linville, Bellingham council draw no challengers during filing week

Most of the races for public office in 2015 in Whatcom County will be uncontested.

Bellingham Mayor Kelli Linville and everyone seeking a seat on the Bellingham City Council are safe. Barring any change in plans by April Barker of the Birchwood neighborhood, she will be the newest council member next year.

Barker would replace Jack Weiss, who chose not to seek re-election. Dan Hammill, appointed to the council in December to replace Cathy Lehman, will be the only candidate for that seat in November.

At Whatcom County, the races have more competition. Executive Jack Louws got a challenger on the last day of filing, Friday, May 15, in Joy Gilfilen. She is a president of the Restorative Community Coalition and a critic of the proposal for a new county jail.

Four candidates are seeking the County Council seat being vacated by longtime public official Pete Kremen. Satpal Sidhu, appointed to replace Sam Crawford on the council less than two months ago, is being challenged by Kathy Kershner, who lashed out against the council in March when it selected Sidhu over her.

Open seats in the Ferndale mayor’s office and on the Bellingham School Board attracted five candidates each.

The following list shows all filings, with some exceptions. Only contested races for school board, fire commissioner, and park and recreation district commissioner are listed. The list excludes hospital districts (no races were contested), water districts and cemetery districts. Incumbents are noted with an “I.” All races are nonpartisan.

To see the complete list, go to whatcomcounty.us/1730/Candidates and click on “ View a list of candidates who have filed.”

Races with three or more candidates will appear on the Aug. 4 ballot, which will be mailed to registered voters in the relevant jurisdictions in mid-July. The top two vote-getters in the primaries, and all one and two-person races, will be on the Nov. 3 ballot.

A construction bond measure for the new jail is expected to make the November ballot, along with several suggested amendments to the county charter.

Candidates who change their mind can withdraw from the ballot, as long as they get to the Auditor’s Office at 311 Grand Ave., Bellingham, by 4:30 p.m. Monday, May 18.

Whatcom County

Executive: Jack Louws (I) and Joy Gilfilen

Council: Todd Donovan, Theresa Sygitowicz, Bruce Ayers and Emily Weaver, District 1B; Satpal Sidhu (I) and Kathy Kershner, District 2B; Barbara Brenner (I), District 3B

Assessor: Keith Willnauer (I)

Auditor: Debbie Adelstein (I)

Sheriff: Bill Elfo (I)

Treasurer: Steven Oliver (I)

Superior Court: Raquel Montoya-Lewis (I), Position 4


Mayor: Kelli Linville (I)

Council: April Barker, Ward 1; Dan Hammill (I), Ward 3; Terry Bornemann (I), Ward 5; Roxanne Murphy (I), at-large


Council: Steve A. Lawrenson (I), Ward 1 Position 1; Dennis Olason (I), Ward 2 Position 3; Mary Lou Steward, Ward 3 Position 5


Council: Eric Oettel (I), Position 4; Joel Vande Hoef (I), Position 5


Mayor: Jon Mutchler, Cathy Watson, J. Manuel Reta, Vicca Thompson, Carol Bersch

Council: Rebecca Xczar, Position 1; Greg Hansen, Position 2; Keith M. Olson (I), Christopher Lee and Glenn Stewart, Position 3; Matthew Durkee, Paul S. Ingram (I) and Teresa N. Taylor, Position 4


Council: Gary L. Bode (I), Position 1; Ronald DeValois (I), Position 2; Gerald “Jerry” Kuiken (I), Position 3; Brent Lenssen (I), Position 4


Council: Scott Bodven (I), Position 4; Marshall Judy (I), Position 5


Council: Todd Daniels (I), Position 3; Gary de Bont (I), Position 5

Port of Bellingham

Commissioner: Gary S. Jensen, Robert “Bobby” Briscoe and Lloyd Zimmerman, District 3

Bellingham School Board

Anthony “Tony” Wallace, Dylan Richardson, Shannon Wright, Quenby Peterson and Jono Manion, Position 2

Ferndale School Board

Stuart McKay (I) and William Baader, District 2

Blaine School Board

Joan Lotze (I), Russ Schutt and Jesse Creydt, District 3

Lynden School Board

Dominic Shiu (I), Position 1; Brian L. Johnson (I), Position 2; Kevin Burke (I), Position 3

Mount Baker School Board

Ellen Dodson (I) and Brenda Chapin, District 2

Fire District 4

Harry W. Andrews (I) and Peter H. Arkison, Position 1

Fire District 5

Stan Riffle (I) and Judson Meraw, Position 1

Fire District 21

Dean Whitney (I) and John Crawford, Position 1

South Whatcom Fire Authority

Tom Ekdahl and Brian Martin, District 1; James Willson (I), District 2; Stefen Paige and John B. Parks (I), District 4

Lynden Park and Recreation District

Barbara Daley and Hank Roorda (I), Position 5