Get Out

WCC’s Kids’ College offers crafts, fantasy, STEM classes

Taylor Howard, then 8, concentrates on her work in a Pioneer Crafts class at Whatcom Community College in 2009.
Taylor Howard, then 8, concentrates on her work in a Pioneer Crafts class at Whatcom Community College in 2009. The Bellingham Herald

Kids’ College programs this summer at Whatcom Community College offer a diverse range of topics and activities for children and teens.

“We’re adding more teen-focused classes’” said Mary Vermillion, public information officer and marketing and communications director at WCC.

She said the college setting helps point children and teens in the direction of lifelong learning.

Among the classes offered this summer are pioneer crafts for fans of “American Girl” and “Little House on the Prairie” books; sewing and general fiber arts classes; classes with activities based on the popular book series featuring Harry Potter and Percy Jackson; painting, drawing and general art classes; robotics; yoga; and Teen Chef programs.

“What they’re most excited about is the robotics and the more advanced classes,” Vermillion said. “People are really passionate about this.”

Many of the classes are taught by Jennifer Bryan-Goforth, a local teacher and entrepreneur, and one of the founding instructors of Kids College more than 10 years ago. Also teaching this year is Kimberly Gustafson of Bricks & Beyond, who uses Lego blocks and software to show youngsters how to build a simple robot.

Other robotics classes focus on skills in the science, technology, engineering and math fields, as does a new class on 3-D printing — taught by The Foundry Makerspace owners Mary Keane and Jason Davies

Course fees vary, with classes ranging from $10 to $175. Some classes have additional materials fees.

Details: call 360-383-3200 or go to whatcom.ctc.edu and click the link to Continuing and Community Education.

Reach Robert Mittendorf at 360-756-2805 or robert.mittendorf@bellinghamherald.com. Tweeting @ DressLikeADuck.

Online

Find Robert Mittendorf’s Out With the Kids column online at BellinghamHerald.com/out-with-kids.

  Comments