Phillips, Carlson, McElwain win prestigious scholarship


Three Whatcom County athletes were recently awarded the Todd Curran Memorial Scholarship, which is a scholarship awarded to top county student-athletes.

Winning the award was Meridian's Davis Phillips, Ferndale's Hannah Carlson and Blaine's Alexis McElwain.

Phillips competed in cross country, chess and baseball while maintaining a 3.98 GPA. He took part in many volunteer efforts, including helping single mothers and children through the ministry, Servant's Hearts, located in Lynden. Phillips plans to attend Gonzaga University next fall, where he hopes to major in civil engineering and also desires to try out for the baseball team.

Carlson played varsity basketball and volleyball all four years at Ferndale and was selected captain in both sports. She managed to maintain a 4.0 GPA while immersing herself in a number of volunteer endeavors.

She put on the Whatcom JAM (Joint Adoption Movement) that encouraged and motivated Whatcom County families to support and possibly participate in adoption efforts. Carlson will attend Northwest University to pursue a business management degree and will also play basketball.

McElwain was a three-sport athlete and won 11 letters, participating in soccer, basketball and softball. She maintained a 3.81 GPA, serving as ASB president her senior year.

She plans to study in the medical field and will attend the University of Washington next fall.

Last year's scholarship winners were Sehome's Meagan McIntyre and Lynden High's Bret DeGraaff.

The scholarship is worth $5,000 with $1000 to be distributed each year over a five-year period. It is based on three parts: athletic accomplishment, above average academic success and community service.

The scholarship was created 21 years ago by Sehome alum Jeff Reinert, who is the head basketball coach at Santa Margarita Catholic High School. He was inspired by the support he received from family, coaches and teachers growing up in Bellingham. The scholarship is named after his former teammates, Todd Curran, who died after fighting a brain tumor.


Several Whatcom County softball players earned all-tournament team honors for their play during the Class 1A State Softball Tournament.

Both Mount Baker's Aleks Toivola and Nooksack Valley's Alexis Pike earned first-team selections. Toivola received the second most votes of any player.

Mount Baker's Lacey Postlewait, Emma Lallas and Emily Yost were second-team picks. Emily Brandland was an honorable mention. Elma's Brooke Goldsmith was selected MVP.

Reach ANDREW LANG at or call ext. 862.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service