Chala selected first-team all-state; Kogan, Hughes, Gutierrez make second team


Squalicum’s Christian Chala, left, tries to score as Sehome’s Mason Rathkamp defends Tuesday, April 8, at Civic Stadium.


Christian Chala's postseason awards continue to flow in.

The senior Squalicum forward, having already won a Class 2A state championship and been named the All-Northwest Conference Offensive Player of the Year, was selected to the WSSCA All-State 2A Soccer First Team after finishing the season with 10 goals and six assists.

Squalicum's coach Joe McAuliffe was named the 2A Coach of the Year for leading the Storm to a 21-0-2 overall record, a state title, a NWC regular-season crown and a district championship. His defense-first mentality helped mold a group that recorded 16 consecutive shutouts to end the season, including a 19-0 scoring advantage at the state tournament.

Freshman midfielder Tyler Hughes, who scored two goals against Capital in the state championship game, was a second-team all-state selection to go along with senior centerback Hans Kogan.

Hughes finished the season with nine goals and six assists, solidifying a significant role in McAuliffe's rotation in the postseason where he scored five of his nine goals.

Kogan was the leading voice for a Storm backline that allowed just five goals all season while recording 19 shutouts.

All three - Kogan, Chala and Hughes - were first-team All-NWC selections.

The only other Whatcom County player selected was Lynden junior keeper Hector Gutierrez, who was a second-team all-state pick. Gutierrez was the All-NWC Defensive Player of the Year for his play on a young Lions squad, allowing just 19 goals all season and accounting for four shutouts.

Reach Alex Bigelow at or call 360-715-2238. Follow @bhamsports on Twitter for other Whatcom County sports updates.



MVP: Mack Smith, forward, Fife

Coach of the Year: Joe McAuliffe, Squalicum

First team


Mack Smith, Jr., Fife; Mitchell Pinney, Jr., Hockinson; Christian Thode, Sr., Archbishop Murphy; Christian Chala, Sr., Squalicum; Ian Schimandle, Sr., Cheney.


Brady Henderson, So., Archbishop Murphy; Brenan Ball, Sr., Selah; Micah Weller, Sr., Cheney; Raul DeLuna, North Kitsap; Brett Sparks, Sr., Hockinson.


Tyler Ptacek, Sr., Archbishop Murphy; Tommy Nitchman, Kingston; Daniel Pailthorp, Sr., Capital; Kyle Morris, Sr., Ridgefield.

Goal keeper

Oliver Sanchez, Sr., Toppenish; Jakob Racimo, Sr., Capital.

Second team


Nigel El-Sokkary, So., Capital; Utsav Shaka, North Kitsap; Edgar Garcia, Sr., Fife.


Trevan Esterlado, Sr., Cheney; Jason Rodriguez, Sr., Othello; Adama Kante, Jr., Tyee; Tyler Hughes, Fr., Squalicum.


Alex Hernandez, Kingston; James Bettag, Sr., Archbishop Murphy; Isaias Villa, Sr., Ellensburg; Hans Kogan, Sr., Squalicum; Obeb Camacho, Jr., Sedro-Woolley.

Goal keeper

Hector Gutierrez, Jr., Lynden.

Honorable mention


Jalal Haji, Jr., Foster; Servando Fuentes, Sr., Toppenish; Casey Duff, Jr., Black Hills; Danny Wiseman, North Mason.


Zander Knox, Sr., Lake Washington; Jonathan Cano, Jr., Franklin Pierce; Ousmane Sylla, So., Fife.


Nathan Gunderson, Sr., Hockinson; Alan Haagen, Sr., Hockinson; Cruz Galm, Jr., Cheney.

Goal keeper

Alex Worland, Kingston.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service