ZAvisubin wins Sehome baseball MVP

May 24, 2014 

Sehome’s baseball team announced its annual team awards this week.

Sehome team captains were Josh Zavisubin, Davis Hampton and Jake Albert, and Zavisubin won both the Most Valuable Player award and the Inspirational awards.

Trevor Powers won the Mr. Hustle award, Owen Wright won Most Improved, Drew Lomsdalen won Best Hitter with his .391 batting average and Albert won Best Pitcher with his 1.09 ERA.

Matthew Robinson won JV Player of the Year, Hampton won both the Stephen Dember Memorial Scholarship Award and the Academic Award with his 3.811 GPA.


Date and time for the 2014 Golden Eagle Boys’ Youth Basketball Camp have been announced, and the camp is slated from 9 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Monday-Wednesday, June 23-25, at Ferndale High School.

The camp is open to players entering fourth through eighth grade and cost to attend is $45. Campers will receive a T-Shirt and ball.

Camp coaches include varsity head coach Monte Walton, varsity assistant coach John Shaw, JV coach Jared Stevenson, C-Team coach Jason Owens and Ferndale varsity, junior varsity C-Team players. Guest Instructor Chris Hyppa will also be coaching.

Campers should bring basketball shoes, shorts, T-Shirt, sweat socks and a water bottle. Parents and area coaches are encouraged to attend all sessions and show their support.

For more information contact Walton at 360-734-6517 or email him at


The 2014 Grand Slam baseball camp will take place in three sessions during the course of this summer.

A camp for kids age 7-10 will be from June 18-20, camp is from June 30-July 2 for 11 and 12 year olds, and for 13-16 year olds there is a camp from July 7-9. Camp begins at 8:30 a.m. and ends at 2 p.m.

The camp features fundamental skill development including fielding, throwing, hitting, running drills and video taping. There will also be highlight films, clinics, video analysis, games and a superstar competition.

Campers should bring a glove, baseball shoes, baseball clothes and lunch everyday.

Coaches include Gary Hatch, Monte Walton, Jerry Smoot, Todd Leita, Gabe Memmert, Dane Siegfried and John Albert to name a few.

Camp fee is $105, and spots will be filled up on a first-come, first-serve basis. Registration can be made by calling 360-778-7000 or visit

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service