Five WWU athletes qualify for NCAA II Championships


Led by Alex Donigian, who ranks fifth nationally in the men's 60 meters, five Western Washington University athletes have qualified for the NCAA Division II Indoor Track and Field Championships on March 14-15 at Winston Salem, N.C.

Also competing for the Vikings will be Tanya Bjornsson in the women's long jump, Frank Catelli in the men's shot put, Chip Jackson in the men's mile and Cheyenna Pinley in the women's pole vault.

Donigian broke his own school record in the 60 this season with a time of 6.75.

It is the second straight national appearance for Pinley, who placed 13th in the pole vault last year by clearing 12-1 1/2. She ranks 17th this season with a mark of 12-6.

Also, WWU had a school-record 24 athletes, 18 men and six women, named to the 2014 United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association/NCAA Division II Indoor Track and Field West Region All-Star team announced Wednesday.

Five Vikings were recognized in two events and 13 were repeaters.

Earning all-region distinction were the top five individuals in each event and members of the top three relay teams.

WWU athletes honored for the third time were Bjornsson, Logan Myers, Jon Poolman and Brett Watson.

Nine other repeaters were Donigian, Jacob Gilbert, shot put; Jackson, mile; Peter Maguire, 60 hurdles; Pinley, pole vault; Katie Reichert, pentathlon; Nate Schmidt, 4x400 relay; Devon Smith, 4x400 relay; and Kevin Yates, long jump.

Morgan Annable was honored in the pole vault, Tanner Boyd in the 5,000, Catelli in the shot put, Sydney Coffey in the 400, Isaac Griffith in the 5,000, Keenan Komoto in the pole vault, Gordie Kordas in the pole vault, Ryan McArthur in the 4x400, Travis Milbrandt in the 60 hurdles, Katelyn Steen in the 5000, and Nate van Tuinen in the long jump.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service