WCC's Impero, Grattic garner Northern Region's top honors


Whatcom Community College swept the Most Valuable Player awards for the Northern Region in men's and women's basketball when the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges All-Star teams were released on Tuesday, Feb. 25.

Former Nooksack Valley standout Kyle Impero won the men's MVP, while Kortney Grattic, who played at Squalicum and Lynden, was honored on the women's side.

Impero finished second among the NWAACC's regular-season scoring leaders with 29.74 points per game, just a little more than 0.2 points per game less than Big Bend's Brendan Westendorf. Impero also ranked sixth in the league in steals (2.22 per game) and ninth in free-throw percentage (81.0).

Grattic also was second in the NWACC in scoring with 20.04 points per game, trailing only Spokane's Riley Holsinger (22.48). Grattic, who also was selected the Northern Region's Freshman of the Year, also ranked 19th in the league in rebounds (7.83) and fourth in free-throw shooting (80.7 percent).

Impero was joined on the Northern Region all-stars by second-team selections Alex Duncan and Eric Fongue, all-defensive team pick Neilan Pierce and Coach of the Year David Dunham.

Kayla Tiemersma was a first-team All-Northern Region selection on the women's side, while Alisha Friberg made the region's All-Defensive team.

The Orcas send both teams on to the NWAACC Tournament, which begins later this week at the Toyota Center in Kennewick. The men's team (18-6) will face Spokane in the first round at 2 p.m. on Saturday, March 1, while the women's team (16-8) will take on Blue Mountain at 8 a.m. on Saturday.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service