Sehome's Adams gets personal best in win over Burlington-Edison


The Sehome boys' swimming team defeated Burlington-Edison 122-44 on Wednesday, Jan. 22, at the Arne Hanna Aquatic Center.

The Mariners' 200 medley relay team (Calvin Richan, Patrick Lisosky, Isaiah Grambo and Josh Larson) came in with a state-qualifying time of 1 minute, 47.47 seconds. With that, all three of Sehome's relay teams - the 200 medley relay, 200 freestyle relay and 400 freestyle relay teams - have earned state-qualifying times.

"That's something that you really want to do before conference championships," Sehome coach Don Helling said in a phone interview. "A couple of those legs were best times by nearly a second."

Another standout from the meet was Joseph Adams in the 100 breaststroke. Adams finished in first with a time of 1:09.57, a personal-best for the sophomore.

"That was Joseph's best time ever, by far," Helling said.

The Mariners took the top three spots in that swim, with Lisosky and Brian Whitney coming in second and third, respectively.

Both Colin Hakeman and Isaiah Grambo won all of their respective races. Hakeman took home wins in the 200 freestyle (2:00.06) and 500 freestyle (5:26.98), while also swimming legs in the winning 200 freestyle and 400 freestyle relay teams.

Grambo brought home wins in the 200 IM (2:13.37) and 100 backstroke (59.59), while also swimming legs in the winning 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay teams.

Sehome (5-0, Northwest Conference 5-0) faces off against undefeated Squalicum (5-0, NWC 5-0) at 3:15 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 28, at Arne Hanna Aquatic Center. The winner will likely go on to take the NWC team championship.


200 medley relay: Sehome (Calvin Richan, Patrick Lisosky, Isaiah Grambo, Josh Larson) 1:47.47; 200 freestyle: Colin Hakeman (Sehome) 2:00.06; 200 individual medley: Isaiah Grambo (Sehome) 2:13.37; 50 freestyle: Trevor Nims (Sehome) 24.62; 100 butterfly: Josh Larson (Sehome) 59.35; 100 freestyle: Matthew Moe (Burlington-Edison) 55.34; 500 freestyle: Colin Hakeman (Sehome) 5:26.98; 200 freestyle relay: Sehome (Josh Larson, Travor Nims, Colin Hakeman, Patrick Lisosky) 1:41.10; 100 backstroke: Isaiah Grambo (Sehome) 59.59; 100 breaststroke: Joseph Adams (Sehome) 1:09.57; 400 freestyle relay: Sehome (Trevor Nims, Isaiah Grambo, Josh Larson, Colin Hakeman) 3:41.49.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service