Bellingham's Torres, Deal have strong days for Red Raiders


The Bellingham boys' wrestling team defeated both Anacortes and Lynden on Wednesday, Jan. 22, at Bellingham High School.

The Red Raiders came away with wins over the Seahawks by a count of 42-33, and the Lions by a mark of 63-12.

Of the wrestlers Bellingham coach Tom Hinz was impressed with, Melvin Deal (285-pound class) caught his eye after turning in two solid performances.

"He lost to the Anacortes kid (Kiron Devine) this weekend, and he picked up a big win," Hinz said in a phone interview.

Sergio Torres also picked up two wins for the Red Raiders after jumping up from the 126-pound weight division to the 138-pound weight division.

Lynden's Christian Mouat continues to be one of the best wrestlers in the Northwest Conference, defeating Bellingham's Babak Abedsaidi 10-3.

"He's been real solid for us," Lynden coach Randy Anderson said in a phone interview.


106: Dustin Chartrand (Anacortes) pin Dewald Olivier (Bellingham). 113: Matt Mineo (Anacortes) pin Anders Mittet (Bellingham). 120: Ben Donnelly (Bellingham) win by forfeit. 126: Riley Takemura (Bellingham) win by forfeit. 132: Romeo Mendez (Bellingham) pin Kevin Diaz (Anacortes). 138: Sergio Torres (Bellingham) win 10-4 Julian Collins (Anacortes). 145: Badak Abedsaidi (Bellingham) win by forfeit. 152: Andrew Toth (Anacortes) win 2-0 Alden Roberts (Bellingham). 160: Tanner Aliff (Bellingham) win 4-1 Jeff Vazquez (Anacortes). 170: David Burnham (Bellingham) pin Sylvester Baron (Anacortes). 182: Aaron Tisinger (Anacortes) pin Blaire Bennett (Bellingham). 195: Ross Atterberry (Anacortes) pin Spencer Marshall (Bellingham). 220: James Swanson (Anacortes) pin Nick Hanks (Bellingham). 285: Melvin Deal (Bellingham) pin Kiron Devine (Anacortes).


106: Dewald Olivier (Bellingham) win by forfeit. 113: Primitivo Cruz (Lynden) win 6-4 Anders Mittet (Bellingham). 120: Ben Donnelly (Bellingham) win by forfeit. 126: Riley Takemura (Bellingham) win 7-0 Isaac Bueno (Lynden). 132: Romeo Mendez (Bellingham) pin Edgar Garsia (Lynden). 138: Sergio Torres (Bellingham) pin Johnny Lara (Lynden). 145: Christian Mouat (Lynden) win 10-3 Babak AbedsaidI (Bellingham). 152: Alden Roberts (Bellingham) pin Kolin George (Lynden). 160: Tanner Aliff (Bellingham) pin Andy Herrera (Lynden). 170: David Burnham (Bellingham) pin Brandon Dhillon (Lynden). 182: Brody Weinheimer (Lynden) pin Blaire Bennett (Bellingham). 195: Spencer Marshall (Bellingham) pin Tanner Steele (Lynden). 220: Nick Hanks (Bellingham) pin Alex Flores (Lynden). 285: Melvin Deal (Bellingham) pin Logan Brown (Lynden).


106: Felix Rojas (NV) win by forfeit. 113: Primitivo Cruz (Lynden) win 18-3 Chris Forsee (NV). 120: Elijah Rhode (NV) win by forfeit. 126:Paul Newell (NV) win 16-1 Isaac Bueno (Lynden). 132: Joseph Aure (NV) pin Nathan Rachinski (Lynden). 138: Ruben Perez (Lynden) win by forfeit. 145: Christian Mouat (Lynden) win by forfeit. 152: Jared Parson (NV) win 8-0 Kollin George (Lynden). 160: Andy Herrera (Lynden) win by forfeit. 170: Brandon Dhillon (Lynden) win by forfeit. 182: Brody Weinheimer (Lynden) pin Eric Avila (NV). 195: Tanner Steele (Lynden) win by forfeit. 220: Alex Flores (Lynden) win by forfeit. 285: Logan Brown (Lynden) pin Tyson Mergel (NV).

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service