Three openings on Whatcom Planning Commission


The Whatcom County Council is taking applications through Jan. 28 for three vacancies on the Planning Commission.

The nine-member board reviews proposed changes to what may be built, or what commercial or residential uses are allowed, on land in the unincorporated county.

The terms of commission Chairwoman Michelle Luke, and commissioners Rod Erickson and Jeff Rainey, expire on Jan. 31, 2014. Those who seek the positions held by Luke or Erickson must live in county District 3, extending north and west from northwest Bellingham to Blaine, including Lummi Island. Applicants for Rainey's seat must reside in District 1, which includes south Bellingham and the south county.

Applications should be submitted to the County Council office and are available at The deadline is Jan. 17 for those who wish to have their applications included in the council's meeting materials. The council plans to fill the vacancies on Jan. 28.

Reach Ralph Schwartz at 360-715-2289 or Read his Politics Blog at or follow him on Twitter at @bhamheraldpolitics.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service