West Coast League realigns divisions


The Board of Directors of the West Coast League has voted to re-align the league's divisions for the 2014 season. The vote created a three-division alignment based on natural geographical boundaries.

The Bellingham Bells will join the West Division, which will also include the Victoria HarbourCats, the Kitsap Bluejackets and the Cowlitz Black Bears.

The South Division will include all of the league's Oregon teams - the Corvallis Knights, Bend Elks, Klamath Falls Gems and Medford Rogues.

The East Division will include the Kelowna Falcons, Walla Walla Sweets, Wenatchee AppleSox, and the WCL's newest expansion team, Yakima.

The Bells will continue to play games all across the league, but won't visit each team every year. With the revised league alignment, the playoff format will include the three division champions plus a wild card. The 2014 season is set to begin in early June and end in mid-August.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service