Bellingham girls' cross country packs up a win


Bellingham girls' cross country packed up and ran together to score 20 points to defeat Meridian and Lynden on Wednesday, Oct. 9, at Berthusen Park. Meridian's McKenzie Roque won the 5.25K race with a time of 21 minutes, 52 seconds.

Bellingham's Abby Walker was second overall at 22:45, followed by Leah Veldhuisen's time of 22:46. The Red Raiders' Maya Norton also came in at 22:46, with Julia Latimer and Madeline Prentiss hot on her heels as both finished at 22:47.

"Bellingham's runners ran in packs. ... They controlled the race that way," Lynden coach Kevin Richins said in a phone interview. "Meridian had some strong runners in the front, but they couldn't overcome Bellingham's packs."

Lynden was led by Grace Sauter's time of 24:11, as Richins said each of his runners "ran a better race than they have in the past" by setting a good pace early.

Bellingham and Lynden next race at the Hole in the Wall Invite at 9:40 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 12, at Lakewood High School. Meridian's next meet is at 4 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 17, at Lake Padden.

At Berthusen Park


Team scores: 1. Bellingham 20; 2. Meridian 47; 3. Lynden 74

Top individual finishers: 1. McKenzie Roque (Meridian) 21:52; 2. Abby Walker (Bellingham) 22:45; 3. Leah Veldhuisen (Bellingham) 22:46

Bellingham: Walker 22:45; Veldhuisen 22:46; Maya Norton 22:46; Julia Latimer 22:47; Madeline Prentiss 22:47; Sarah Rubin 22:54; Lizzie Hanks 23:57.

Meridian: Roque 21:52; Dana Andrushenko 23:49; Tiana Pratt 24:26; Madison Holz 25:14; Elianna Ryan 26:48; Sarah Graybeal 26:52; Katie Edmonds 26:56.

Lynden: Grace Sauter 24:11; Alex Schulhauser 26:24; Frances Sauter 26:26; Cynthia Anker 29:03; Morgan Nims 29:06; Danika Miedema 30:35.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service