Watson's big win leads Sehome girls' cross country at Lake Padden


Sehome girls' cross country registered a perfect score of 15 and took 18 of the top 20 spots to defeat Nooksack Valley and Anacortes on Wednesday, Oct. 9, at Lake Padden Park.

Sehome's Ruby Watson was all by herself as she won the 2.6-mile race in a time of 15 minutes, 21 seconds. It was the second fastest time in Sehome history, Mariners coach Nic Castona said in a phone interview.

"That was a big run," Castona said. "It was a great run for her to be out in front and all by herself."

Anacortes' Heather Rolph was the only runner not from Sehome in the top 10. She finished eighth overall in a time of 17:51. Her teammate Minta Demonte was the other runner not from Sehome to crack the top 20. She had a time of 18:34, finishing 19th overall.

Nooksack Valley was led by Chloe Gardner's time of 19:18. Gardner just edged out teammate Amy Murphy, who also finished in 19:18. Sehome's Zanna Sullivan finished second overall and second for the Mariners with a time of 15:53.

All three schools will be running in the Hole in the Wall Invite at 9:40 a.m. Saturday, Oct. 12, at Lakewood High School.

At Lake Padden Park

2.6 miles

Team scores: 1. Sehome 15; 2. Anacortes 62; 3. Nooksack Valley 64

Top individual finishers: 1. Ruby Watson (Sehome) 15:21; 2. Zanna Sullivan (Sehome) 15:53; 3. Rebekah Oviatt (Sehome) 16:56

Sehome: Watson 15:21; Sullivan 15:53; Oviatt 16:56; Ellie Rowan-Arnett 16:57; Emily Pittis 16:58; Maya Smith 17:29; Abby Johnson 17:31.

Anacortes: Heather Rolph 17:51; Minta Demonte 18:34; Whitney Hogge 19:46; Fiona Frein 19:52; Rachel White 20:01; Taleah Phillips 20:06; Courtney Shaffner 23:03.

Nooksack Valley: Chloe Gardner 19:18; Amy Murphy 19:18; Jessica Jose 19:32; Kelly Jackson 19:33; Pearl Morris 21:02; Maria Cazares 21:23.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service