Archbishop Murphy squeaks past Lynden girls' swimming

THE BELLINGHAM HERALDSeptember 27, 2013 

In a girls' swimming meet that came right down to the wire, Archbishop Murphy defeated Lynden 87-83 on Thursday, Sept. 26, at the Lynden YMCA. Archbishop Murphy was led by the relay team of Vayle Barela, Sam Nixon, Caitlin Mitchell and Kaele McCloskey, who won the 400 freestyle relay and the 200 frestyle relay.

"There were a lot of close finishes, we had a good meet together like we usually do," Lynden coach Linda Bode said in a phone interview. "We're starting to come together as a team and our depth really helped us today."

Lynden's Jadyn Elias qualified for the district meet in the 50 freestyle with 29.42, and Payton Vogt qualified in the 100 breaststroke with her time of 1:27.45.

Lynden's next swimming match is at 3:15 p.m., Wednesday, Oct. 2, at Fidalgo Bay against Sedo-Woolley.


200 medley relay: Sarah Hollander, Payton Vogt, Annie Uribe, Jadyn Elias (Lynden) 2:17.16; 200 freestyle: Vayle Barela (Archbishop Murphy) 2:22.15; 200 individual medley: Kaele McCloskey (Archbishop Murphy) 2:24.18; 50 freestyle: Jadyn Elias (Lynden) 29.42; Diving: none; 100 butterfly: Sarah Hollander (Lynden) 1:14.86; 100 freestyle: Caitlin Mitchell (Archbishop Murphy) 1:05.54; 500 freestyle: Maddy Schneider (Archbishop Murphy) 7:21.05; 200 freestyle relay: Caitlin Mitchell, Sam Nixon, Vayle Barela, Kaele McCloskey (Archbishop Murphy) 2:00.83; 100 backstroke: Kaele McCloskey (Archbishop Murphy) 1:06.13; 100 breaststroke: Payton Vogt (Lynden) 1:27.45; 400 freestyle relay: Vayle Barela, Sam Nixon, Caitlin Mitchell, Kaele McCloskey (Archbishop Murphy) 2:24.75.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service