Whatcom County touts nine All-Northwest Conference softball first-team picks


Lynden pitcher Brooke Bonsen, right, and catcher Lynden's Mandy Warner high five each other after Lynden beat Nooksack Valley 12-0 in softball at Nooksack Elementary on Tuesday, April 16, 2013 in Everson.

Nine Whatcom County softball players were selected to the All-Northwest Conference first team, including two players each from Lynden, Sehome, Nooksack Valley and Ferndale.

Anacortes star pitcher Liz Crookes was selected Most Valuable Player, and Lynden coach Steve Petersen was selected Coach of the Year. Teams are voted on by league coaches.

The Lions' four All-NWC selections were the most among Whatcom County schools, Blaine had three and Ferndale, Nooksack Valley, Sehome and Mount Baker had two. Lynden Christian pitcher Bridget Kruck, a second teamer, represented the Lyncs' lone pick.

Five players were selected from both Anacortes and Sedro-Woolley, and three players were chosen from Burlington-Edison.

Lions senior pitcher Brooke Bonsen, who was awarded the MVP award last year, was a first-team selection, and sophomore teammate Tanna Benson joined her on the first team. Lynden junior infielder Trisha Snydar and sophomore catcher Mandy Warner were second-team picks.

All four helped Lynden put together a 21-6 record and claim a NWC and Northwest District title while helping the Lions go 2-2 during the Class 2A State Tournament.

Blaine senior pitcher Ashley Bolick received a first-team selection after missing her junior year with a foot injury, and junior Selena Pai and sophomore catcher Lexi Greguski were second-team picks.

The Borderites earned the top seed in the Class 1A District Tournament, finishing with a 16-9 record.

Both of Nooksack Valley's selections were first teamers. Junior Chloe Gardner and senior short stop McKinna Larson represented the Pioneers, who finished 17-10, won both the Northwest District and tri-district title and went 1-2 during the Class 1A State Tournament.

Sehome's selections were senior shortstop Rachel Albert and sophomore power hitter Gabby Gorosave. Both were first teamers. The Mariners finished 8-10 but did not make the postseason.

Ferndale, which finished 14-9 and was ousted in the district tournament, was represented by first team senior catcher and soon-to-be Saint Martin's player Corrie Wilson, as well as first-team sophomore Kadence Kane.

Mount Baker junior Emma Lallas and sophomore catcher Emily Yost were both second-team selections. The Mountaineers finished 14-13, advancing to the Class 1A State Tournament.

Besides Crookes, Amber Writer, Hayley Stout, Kayla Mathews and Brooke Writer were first- or second-team picks from Anacortes. Sedro-Woolley's Kaylee Lamphiear, Ashley Queen, Kalia Chu-Greenough, Cassidy Mast and Tinerra Adams were all-conference picks, and Burlington-Edison's Riley VanderVeen, Quincy Gunderson and Dallas Nelson also made the team.

Reach Andrew Lang at andrew.lang@bellinghamherald.com or call 360-756-2862.


Most Valuable Player: Liz Crookes, Anacortes

Coach of the Year: Steve Petersen, Lynden

First team

Player Yr. School

Brooke Bonsen 12 Lynden

Kaylee Lamphiear N/A Sedro-Woolley

Amber Writer N/A Anacortes

Corrie Wilson 12 Ferndale

Chloe Gardner 11 Nooksack Valley

Rachel Albert 12 Sehome

Tanna Benson 10 Lynden

Ashley Bolick 12 Blaine

Gabby Gorosave 10 Sehome

Ashley Queen N/A Sedro-Woolley

McKinna Larson 12 Nooksack Valley

Kalia Chu-Greenough N/A Sedro-Woolley

Riley VanderVeen N/A Burlington-Edison

Kadence Kane 10 Ferndale

Second team

Player Yr. School

Quincy Gunderson N/A Burlington-Edison

Dallas Nelson N/A Burlington-Edison

Hayley Stout N/A Anacortes

Emily Yost 10 Mount Baker

Selena Pai 11 Blaine

Mandy Warner 10 Lynden

Bridget Kruck 12 Lynden Christian

Brooke Writer N/A Anacortes

Lexi Greguski 10 Blaine

Emma Lallas 11 Mount Baker

Trisha Snydar 11 Lynden

Cassidy Mast N/A Sedro-Woolley

Kayla Mathews N/A Anacortes

Tinerra Adams N/A Sedro-Woolley

Reach ANDREW LANG at andrew.lang@bellinghamherald.com or call ext. 862.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service