Lynden's Christianson selected All-NWC Most Valuable Player


Bellingham’s Chantal Tran competes in the 200 at the Birger Solberg Invitational at Civic Stadium on Saturday, April 6, in Bellingham.

For the past few years, Luke Christianson has been the premier leadoff batter in the Northwest Conference and a pontifical center fielder in one of the best outfields in the conference.

On Tuesday, May 21, the Lynden senior was honored by the league's coaches as the All-NWC Most Valuable Player.

Christianson set the table for the Lions with his team-high .384 batting average, as he went 28 for 73 at the plate and drew 13 walks. Once on the bases he was able to create havoc with his speed, as he stole 10 bases.

Christianson, who plans to play for Lower Columbia College next year, also had six doubles, a triple and three homers, scored a team-high 26 runs and drove in 13. He helped lead the Lions to the Northwest Conference title and the quarterfinals of the Class 2A State Tournament last weekend.

Joining Christianson on the first team were teammates Josh Kraght and Tanner Olson. Kraght was the league's top catcher, while Olson was a first-team pick as both a pitcher and a batter - the only player so honored this spring.

Bellingham placed three players on the first team in outfielders Oscar White and Aaron Burke and freshman infielder Austin Shenton.

Ferndale and Sehome each put their third basemen on the first team with the selection of the Golden Eagles' Austyn Sprague and the Mariners' Jacob Manson.

Rounding out the first team were Anacortes' Billy King and Dan Bateman, Burlington-Edison's Dalton Schwetz and Sedro-Woolley's Jackson Conn and Austin Schuetzle. The Cubs Collin Hannan joined Olson as a first-team pitcher.

The second team consisted of Bellingham's Connor Phelps, Blaine's Matt Vogee, Burlington-Edison's Hunter Jacobson, Ferndale's Brady Bauthues, Lynden's Zach Vis and Matt Meyer, Lynden Christian's Jamie Heystek, Meridian's Jeremy Brockmann, Mount Baker's Titus Balvanz, Sehome's Tyler Knutsen and Josh Zavisubin and Squalicum's Ben Johnson. The second-team pitchers were Sehome's Brice Longanecker and Bellingham's Matt Richard.

Sedro-Woolley's Brad Conn was selected Coach of the Year.

Reach DAVID RASBACH at or call 715-2271.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service