Messenger, Toney awarded Birger Solberg Scholarship


Sehome seniors Hallie Messenger and Liam Toney have been selected the 2012-13 recipients of the Birger Solberg Scholarship.

Messenger maintained a 3.7 GPA, including a number of Advanced Placement classes, and was a four-year member of the basketball and softball teams at Sehome. She will be attending Chapman University in Southern California next year and plans to major in International Business.

Toney participated in cross country and track during his time at Sehome. He maintained a 4.0 GPA, while taking many AP courses. He will attend Pomona College in Southern California next year and plans to major in science.

The Birger Solberg Scholarship is awarded in the name of the late Birger Solberg, a long time teacher and coach at Sehome who inspired many students, athletes and coaches.

The scholarship is based upon all-around excellence in academics, athletics and character and is worth $4,000.


Sehome freshman Gabby Gorosave was selected Washington Interscholastic Activities Association Athlete of the Week last week.

Gorosave went 3 for 3 in the Mariners' 11-1 win over Burlington-Edison on May 9 and finished with a double, a grand slam, a run scored and five RBI.


Bellingham sophomore Cody Roth was selected WIAA Athlete of the Week two weeks ago.

Roth shot a 72 at Sudden Valley Golf and Country Club on May 1 to lead the Red Raiders to a season-low team score of 381.


The Washington Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Association selected nine new members for its Hall of Fame.

Three head coaches will be inducted - Onalaska, Chehalis W.F. West and Northport coach Dennis Bower; Muckelshoot, Enumclaw, White River and Battle Ground coach Bill Hawk; and Yelm and Tumwater coach Bill Ward.

Six assistants also were selected: Tim Gilmore (Centralia), Larry Mollerstuen (Centralia), Larry Hill (Sequim), Mike Reid (North Thurston), Howard Thoemke (Joyce, Central Kitsap, North Kitsap, Olympic and North Mason) and Bob Petrosik (Stanwood, Pe Ell).

North Kitsap's Jerry Parrish will receive the Ed Pepple Service Award for his contributions to high school basketball.

The 39th Annual Hall of Fame banquet will be held at 5 p.m. on July 24 at the Tacoma Elks Club. Tickets cost $30 and can be purchased by contacting Squalicum coach Dave Dickson at 360-201-5218 or emailing

Reach DAVID RASBACH at or call 715-2271.

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service