Anderson sets state-leading mark at 14-4 in pole vault


Sehome's Dylan Anderson set a 2A state-leading mark in the pole vault at the Class 2A/3A Sub-District Tournament at 14 feet, 4 inches Wednesday, May 8, at Civic Stadium.

With the mark, Anderson qualifies for the 2A District 1 & 2 Bi-District meet. Sam Humphreys (Sehome) also qualified with a mark of 13-00. Blaise Black (Sehome), Theron Vis (Lynden) and Josh Ewing (Squalicum) also qualified in the pole vault.

Patrick Gibson (Bellingham) had the best time in the 1,600 at 4 minutes, 18.66 seconds and moves on. Joe Charbonneau (Bellingham), Conner Johnsen (Sehome), Reed Henderson (Sehome), Zane Markosian (Sehome) and Nathan LeTavec (Sehome) also qualified.

David Roy (Sehome) had a mark of 20-03.75 in the long jump and Tristan Hurley (Bellingham) had a mark of 19-10.25. Jonah Jacobson (Squalicum) and Ryan Otterholt (Sehome) also qualified.

Austin Rapp had a mark of 150-02 for Sehome in the discus. Marques Reynolds (Bellingham), Joel Jensen (Squalicum), Steven Gorosave (Sehome) and Thomas Vazorka (Bellingham) all qualified.

Ferndale athletes must wait to see if they qualified to move on depending on how Wesco athletes performed at the Class 3A District meet. The top finishers were Shane Stockton in the discus with a mark of 130-01, Connor Jungkuntz in the pole vault with a mark of 12-09, Trevor Koehn in the the long jump with a mark of 19-7.5 and Justin Ferguson in the long jump with a mark of 19-5.

Other highlights from the meet were Daniel Ziegler posting the best time in the 100 to advance to the sub-district finals with a time of 11.18, and Nick Saupe with a time of 15.14 in the 110 hurdles and 40.44 in the 300 meters.


At Civic Stadium

Wednesday's event final results

1,600: Patrick Gibson (Squalicum) 4:18.66; Joe Charbonneau (Bellingham) 4:19.16; Conner Johnsen (Sehome) 4:29.56; Reed Henderson (Sehome) 4:32.58; Zane Markosian (Sehome) 4:35.15; Zak Roxborough (Anacortes) 4:35.76; Wyatt Mullen (Burlington-Edison) 4:35.93; Nathan LeTavec (Sehome) 4:38.18

Discus: Brandon Pless (Sedro-Woolley) 152-03; Austin Rapp (Sehome) 150-02; Brennan Hamidou (Burlington-Edison) 135-05; Marques Reynolds (Bellingham) 135-04; Joel Jensen (Squalicum) 128-05; Steven Gorosave (Sehome) 127-06; Robbie Wright (Burlington-Edison) 124-06; Thomas Vazorka (Bellingham) 124-04. Shane Stockton (Ferndale) 130-01 (TBD if a Bi-District qualifying mark)

Pole vault: Dylan Anderson (Sehome) 14-04; Sam Humphreys (Sehome) 13-00; Freeman Palmer (Burlington-Edison) 12-06; Austin Cartwright (Sedro-Woolley) 12-00; Drew Langlow (Burlington-Edison) 11-00; Blaise Black (Sehome) 10-00; Theron Vis (Lynden) 9-06; Josh Ewing (Squalicum) 9-06. Connor Jungkuntz (Ferndale) 12-09 (TBD if a Bi-District qualifying mark)

Long jump: Rudy Mataya (Burlington-Edison) 21-04.75; David Roy (Sehome) 20-03.75; Tristan Hurley (Bellingham) 19-10.25; Natahn Butler (Burlington-Edison) 19-05; Jonah Jacobson (Squalicum) 19-05; Mason Elms (Sedro-Woolley) 19-05; Ryan Otterholt (Sehome) 19-04.75; Joe Daniels (Burlington-Edison) 18-06.25. Trevor Koehn (Ferndale) 19-07.5; Justin Ferguson (Ferndale) 19-05 (TBD if a Bi-District qualifying mark)

Bellingham Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service